New Month, New Challenge…8lbs…

Today is August 1st. What challenge are you giving yourself for the next 30 days?

The month of July was a gamble free month for me and that is exciting beyond words. They say it takes 21 days to end/break a bad habit or start/create a new good habit. I honestly haven’t had an urge since. I am a believer in the 21 day habit breaking meme. 🙂 

My challenge for August is to do something uplifting everyday that brings me closer to my physical goals. My ultimate goal this month is to lose 8 lbs.

I’ll report back on August 31st to let you know my progress! Let the countdown begin *scarey face*

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. n/a
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 09:43:03

    Good luck, kiddo.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Neil Hansen
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 15:22:42

    Let the cuntdown begin?

    Like

    Reply

  3. Liza207
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 15:32:10

    Neecy, you can do it! I believe in you, girl!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Zorro
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 16:22:35

    Sugarbusters
    Protein Power
    Atkins
    Paleo Diet

    …the key is LOW CARBS! I have been on a low-carb diet for years. I lost 37 pounds in nine weeks and never went hungry. Once the weight was off, I would occasionally have pasta or potatoes, but honestly if you want the fat to dissolve like cigarette smoke in a hurricane, eliminate all bread, corn, beets, carrots, potatoes (the worst of the worst), pasta, breakfast cereals, etc.

    My cholesterol dropped, too! Get a glycemic index off the net or buy one and learn which carbs have the biggest blood sugar spikes (e.g., russet potatoes are the worst, and sweet potatoes are the best…and also the most nutritious vegetable on the planet. Eat only half of one per week).

    Seriously, it’s hysterical how fast and easily you will lose the weight.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 01, 2011 @ 19:20:28

      Zorro,

      Thank you thank you thank you for the info! Why elimanate carrots? Arent they a veggie? I was wondering about sweet potatoes. Only a half one per week? Also, would brown rice/brown pasta or Black wild rice work against me for the carbs? The detox diet I am following says I can have only 1/2 cup of carbs daily. is that too much?

      OMG if I lose 37 lbs I’d look like a crack head! lol I think i am going to focus on trying to lose 20lbs. in 2 mos.

      So excited!!!!

      Like

      Reply

      • Zorro
        Aug 01, 2011 @ 20:47:14

        Carrots are very high glycemic index (they elevate blood sugar). They’re a very healthy veggie, but they elevate blood sugar (BAD!!!).

        Keep blood sugar low, and your weight gain modulates. Get The New Atkins For A New You.

        Perfect starting point. And stop listening to the idiots who rank on low-carb. It’s the most awesome diet in the world!

        Kisses!

        Like

        Reply

      • Zorro
        Aug 01, 2011 @ 20:51:39

        Wild rice is far better than processed white rice (yecch!).

        Get the Atkins book. It is the starting point for your NEW YOU.

        And learn about glycemic index!!! It’s all about blood sugar, baby!

        Like

        Reply

      • Neecy
        Aug 02, 2011 @ 02:14:52

        I have heard bad things about the Atkins – plus the guy who started it droppped dead LOL. I have however, heard good things about the Paleo Diet. I may try reading that.

        I do however believe in low carbs im helping to reduce weight gain and avoid diabetes.

        Like

        Reply

  5. Zorro
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 09:35:46

    The reason you heard bad things about Atkins is because it is the most fucking successful diet ever invented and everyone is trying to trash it.

    Paleo diet is low carb. South Beach is low carb. You find a diet that works, it is LOW CARB!

    When your blood sugar is modulated, you don’t get hungry like you used to. If you eat a Snickers bar, your blood sugar will jump, but as it descends it will give you the feeling that you are hungry when you are not. Hunger is when your body craves a food source. Dropping blood sugar feels like hunger and makes you eat (usually more carbs) and that is the vicious cycle of hi-carb foods. They make you overeat. If you eat low carb, you will eat less and be happy!

    Learn how to count carbs. Diabetics write books on how to do this. Keep your daily carb intake down to 20 grams per day. If you want, you can also go to the drug store to get some ketone stix. They cost about $9 for a box of 50. You dip one in your urine stream and the more it turns red, the more ketones you have. Ketosis is the process by which body fat is turned into burnable sugars (burning body fat rather than food source). When I see a pink or red ketone stick, it tells me that my body is burning fat. Generally it takes 3-6 days on low carb to start burning body fat and produce ketones.

    No sweating to the oldies, no exercising (unless you want to build muscle). If you want someone else’s opinion, there is a woman blogger named Amy Alkon (The Advice Goddess) who has written posts about her love of low-carb diets and her hatred of the USDA 4 Food groups bullshit. Go to her web site:

    http://www.advicegoddess.com/ag-columns-blog/newindex.html

    …and type in “diet” or “Atkins” in the search box on the left beneath her photo, and it will bring up all her posts for low-carb dieting.

    Enjoy!

    Like

    Reply

    • Zorro
      Aug 02, 2011 @ 15:12:52

      PS: There is a photo of her (she’s 47 years old). She eats bacon every day. This is the web site of the doctor (protein power) that she deals with:

      http://www.proteinpower.com/

      I promise you Neecy, you dump the carbs and the fat will disappear!

      Like

      Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 02, 2011 @ 15:39:08

      Zorro have I ever told you I think you’re a damn genius! LOL You know so much about everything. DAMN! I can’t even fathom how you’ve learned so much about so much!

      Yes i do believe a low carb diet should be standard for everyone. We do need carbs but i don’t think we need as much of it as is eaten daily by most people – especially the refined carbs. I believe that is why there is so much diabetics in this country. All the high startchy refined/processed carbs.

      I definitely see a difference in my weight loss when I cut back on carbs. But I have never officially done a cut back – in terms of counting or measuring how many carbs I have in a day. But with the detox journal book I have it is a very low carb plan. Even if I reduced my carb intake by half, I know it will make a difference.

      With me I have to do things gradually in terms of weaning myself off of stuff like sugar and carbs etc. When I try to go balls to the wall with anything, I end up falling off the wagon. But If I do it gradually, I am successful.

      Like

      Reply

  6. Neecy
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 15:39:33

    BTW Zorro where are you from?

    Like

    Reply

    • Zorro
      Aug 02, 2011 @ 16:07:40

      Born and raised in Barre, Vermont.
      Lived in Newburyport, Massachusetts.
      Lived in Saudi Arabia: 1996-2000
      Lived in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
      Lived in Parsippany, New Jersey
      Lived in Cranford, New Jersey

      Been there. Done that. Eaten it. Read it. Grabbed its ass.

      Like

      Reply

      • Neecy
        Aug 02, 2011 @ 16:30:14

        LOL That’s why you’re so damn smart!

        Saudia Arabie? What was that like?

        Like

        Reply

      • Zorro
        Aug 02, 2011 @ 16:41:04

        What was Saudi like? That’s a huge question.
        I’m white, and I can honestly say I empathize with black people, because I know (seriously: I KNOW) what it feels like to be judged, evaluated and pigeon-holed by an entire society because of what or who I am.

        The word is kaffir, and it means “not in the sight of God.”

        I’m not religious or anything, but that is what it means. So…empathy.

        Like

        Reply

      • Neecy
        Aug 02, 2011 @ 16:50:55

        Really? Most of the middle easterners I know are obsessed with whiteness or looking close to it. All the women dye their hair blondish (and it looks a mess) and the men like lighter more fair skinned women who look closest to White. So I am shocked to hear you were not loved there.

        But i think it may have more to do with religion than you being WHite. Christianity is not loved over in muslim countries. Did you find it was moreso b/c of your possible ties to religion as a White male then just being White?

        I find when people dislike Blacks its bc they hate BLACK skin and people in general. LOL

        Like

        Reply

      • Zorro
        Aug 02, 2011 @ 16:57:48

        No, it wasn’t the white thing, it was religion. But my point was I empathize with black people because they have been pre-judged for silly reasons, as was I.

        I so loathe and despise religious and political intolerance. I just don’t want to go on.

        Like

        Reply

      • Neecy
        Aug 03, 2011 @ 06:48:36

        Yeah sometimes people really need to feel what its like to be discriminated against before they can truly understand what its like for others. The Middle east is just.. I can;t bring words. i am so grateful I am not a woman in those countries. It just seems there is CONSTANT unrest in those countries. sad.

        Like

        Reply

  7. Zorro
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 00:41:58

    Today, August 2nd, I gave myself a $300 teeth bleaching kit. And I quit smoking. And the chick that fitted my mouth plates was smokin hot with no sign of a husband or bf in sight.

    Good Day!

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 03, 2011 @ 06:44:54

      OMG you quit smoking today Z? That’s wonderful news! Did you go cold turkey? *planting big juicy cyber kiss on Zorro for stopping that disgusting habit* I am going to count down 21 days for you. I want to see if the 21 day habit works for you. be honest and tell me when or if you cheated.

      $300 bleaching *KIT* for in office bleaching or to take home? You should only pay $300 if they do it in office. Most bleaching kits should only run like $75-$150.

      Like

      Reply

      • Zorro
        Aug 03, 2011 @ 07:53:27

        Molds were prepared for my upper and lower teeth, and a long supply of bleach provided. This is a home kit, and from what I gather, most dentists charge more than $300. I don’t know. All I know is I’ve gone to the same dentist for over 20 years, and all the hygienists there are hot babes. You know how loyal men can be (hee hee).

        Like

        Reply

      • Neecy
        Aug 04, 2011 @ 05:34:36

        Nothing says “HOT” like a man with some white teeth. i don’t care how much you paid, the fact that you are whitening them is pure hotness! Oh and tell those biatches at the dental office they better back off! 😉

        Like

        Reply

  8. Ettore
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 20:04:04

    If you think Atkins is extreme, you can follow a more reasonable approach by looking at The Primal Blueprint: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-101/

    If you’d like to keep track of the calories you are eating day by day, here we go: http://www.fitday.com/

    And exercise!

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 20, 2011 @ 20:35:31

      HI Ettore!

      Thanks so much for the link. i will definitley look it over! I appreciate the calorie count too b/c that is currently the one way I have not been tracking my progress. I have found myself forcing to each very small portions when I eat, but that still isn’t really counting my daily calories.

      THANKS!! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

