Be AFRAID, Be verrrrry AFRAID….

Salmon Frankenfish coming to a factory, restaraunt, grill and dinner table near you!!

We’re all gonna die! in 5,4,3,2….

WTH is this world coming to!!! ARRRRGH!

So I was reading an article in one of my Women’s Mags today and it was about Genetically modified foods. It focused on a company outside of Boston (AquaBounty Technologies ) that Is currently getting FDA approval for genetically modified salmon – the name of the article was called FRANKENFISH (lol).  The whole purpose is to increase the production and growth of salmon 2 -3 times the normal rate. Their reasoning behind doing so is to supposedly deal with the food supply shortage worldwide.  Those opposing  GM salmon say that unlike drugs which are regulated by the FDA individuals have a choice in whether or not the risks outweigh the benefits of taking a particular drug. People are given the known side effects. With GM foods such as salmon, there is no way possible for anyone to know when or if they are eating it. There will not be any labels or anything to inform the consumer that they are eating GM salmon. Of course this leads to the question, that if for some reason GM salmon is causing problems in a persons body, there is no way to cross reference any side effects of eating GM foods.

Foods like corn which is already GM are often mixed in with regular corn, so there is no telling when you are consuming  this as well. Also the concern is when you increase the natural growth process of fish, it can lead to infections and diseases within the fish itself. The article also pointed out that the FDA has just approved a GM sugar beet to be used in sugar *sigh*. 

Fish of course isn’t the only issue we have to worry with. Last month I received an  e-mail from an natural activist organization in California (don’t even know how I got on their list but ok) , requesting that I sign a petition to Gov. Jerry Brown after a number of farms throughout California have had approval to use a very dangerous and highly toxic chemical pesticide on strawberries – methyl iodide. One in which scientists who viewed the pesticide says any amount be it small or large is not safe and should never be consumed. Still, it was approved and the only way to stop it is if Gov. says “no”. *double sigh*

 I mean at what point does anyone realize we are killing ourselves through the food supply? Is there *really* a need for all these quick grow food programs? Are we really in that much short supply of food that we can no longer eat foods without all of the pesticides and Genetic modifications in labs?  Is America the only nation thus far doing this? Will I need to move to Sweden where there are a boat load of hot ass men (do they GM foods and use pesticides there BTW?). And where can anyone who wants to be relatively healthy go and get fresh fruit, veggies and fish without worrying about them being GM or having such high toxic pesticides to grow them? I know you can buy organic, but I am wondering now how much of organic foods are *really* organic?

 As someone who is trying to take a healthier approach to eating and also as one who LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVES  salmon and  Strawberries (its a conspiracy against me. i just know it is) tries to eat as much of it as possible – I m scared shitless! I mean, I just don’t see anything good coming out of eating foods created in a factory.  But what can we do as consumers besides grow our own foods and veggies? If you live in an apt. complex – that’s out. *triple sigh* And what about protein? If one has decided to do away with beef and chicken, and NOW with all the farm raised fish with possible hormones, wth can we eat? Will we have no other choice but to go vegetarian? Am I rightfully paranoid?

*QUADRUPLE SIGH*

47 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zorro
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 09:12:00

    One of my favorite salmon dishes is the salmon omlette. I use smoked salmon and salmon-flavored creamed cheese, although you can use regular creamed cheese.

    I also love salmon steaks on the grill. But wild Alaskan sockeye is soooooooooooo good it gives me a stiffy! And it’s full of omega-3 fatty acids, so it’s great for your heart, cholesterol level, and brain.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 08, 2011 @ 14:28:53

      SALMON OMELLETE? Recipe please! I have never had a salmon omelette! And yes I love grilled blackened salmon. I have to be honest, i do not like the taste of sockeye red salmon for some reason. I like a more milder tasting salmon. Although I know its he best salmon since they say the pink varieties are not as good for you as the redder.

      I also buy canned salmon and enjoy salmon cakes and crouquettes. But I have to try the omlette. mmmmmmmmmmm

      Like

      Reply

    • Zorro
      Aug 08, 2011 @ 15:38:14

      There really is no recipe for the omelet. I pour my whipped eggs into a low-heat pan until they slowly firm up (too fast and the eggs cook too fast and the omelet breaks), then layer smoked salmon on one half. Onto that I dollop bits of creamed cheese, then fold the egg over like a taco and flip so the creamed cheese side gets melty-mushy. Then I eat it.

      And after I cook you breakfast and clean the dishes, I’ll give you a lap dance in my Spandex athletic underwear.

      [Looks over at Marellus, and turns up his nose.]

      Like

      Reply

      • Neecy
        Aug 08, 2011 @ 16:03:37

        DAMn You’re gonna clean the dishes too!!!!? LOL at the lap dance in spandex undies. i prefer beach speedoos please (and no socks) if you know what i am saying? 😉

        Like

        Reply

      • Zorro
        Aug 08, 2011 @ 16:20:54

        I will be 51 next month, have been a bachelor all my life, and have very strict domestic issues. Nobody cooks in my kitchen but me, and I always do all of the cleanup. I also do all the grocery shopping. If you behave yourself, I might let you fold laundry. Don’t count on it.

        Like

        Reply

      • Neecy
        Aug 09, 2011 @ 17:07:28

        WOW! I’m shocked no one has snatched you up yet!

        Like

        Reply

  2. Zorro
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 09:13:25

    Oh, and you’re not paranoid. If commerce, industry or the fucking government can make a $ on giving you cancer, they will!

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 08, 2011 @ 14:31:03

      yes so true Z. That is why I say wth can a consumer do to avoid these foods? I believe the reason why obesity is so accepted and perpetuated (through foods) is b/c gov’t, food and pharma industries make lots of money of people being sick. Diabetes is such a growing disease in this country – and its one that can simply be avoided.

      I won’t even talk about cancer and how is increasing so much. I had interviewed for a specialty pharma job that sold cancer drugs. After thinking abut it and speaking with a former boss, i decided I wouldn’t want that type of job. My old boss said he did it and that is was such a depressing job. he said I woulnd’t believe the costs associated with a cancer drug. He said he’d go into offices and see young women like 23 sitting in cancer offices. He advised me not to do it. I’m glad I chose not to.

      Its scarey!!

      Like

      Reply

  3. Marellus
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 11:58:27

    Neecy.

    You need a lapdance !!! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 08, 2011 @ 14:34:53

      *sitting in chair, tappin foot and waving roll of dollar bills towards Marellus* I’m waaaiting!!!

      Like

      Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 08, 2011 @ 14:35:30

      Oh and bring ONLY organic strawberries. please and thank you. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

      • Marellus
        Aug 08, 2011 @ 18:19:15

        Awwww Neecy, let’s skip the funny stuff and go for the good stuff. You. Me. A Groucho Marx Movie. And those scrumptuous little delicacies that will make your arteries clog up in anticipation. You know, those morsels whose name makes your herbalist’s eyes light up with dollar signs, as he mentions some humorously shaped beetroot from Uzbekistan.

        And whose smell lingers to such an extent, that Melvin The Muscleman at the gym, out of spite, just wants to put you on a treadmill for the rest of your life. And don’t worry. I’ll give old Melvin a lapdance if he doesn’t back off … but first of all … you’ve gotta promise you’ll behave yourself with me

        … ummm Neecy … stop looking at me that way … yes … I can still see that expression … I know it’s hard … but you can do it … *sigh* … oh all right … think of a pink rhinoceros … feeling better ? … ok … now tell me very nicely that you just want to cuddle with me …

        Like

        Reply

      • Zorro
        Aug 08, 2011 @ 18:39:46

        Okay Marellus: Fair Warning.

        1. I am a totally huge fan of the Marx Brothers. Before Mel Brooks, there was God and He said the funny word, and it was “Groucho.” I am so all over Duck Soup, A Day at the Races, and Horse Feathers, it will scare the stripes off a tiger. Groucho Marx is my prophet. “Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read.”
        2. I am a bull moose. The antlers. The ability to run at full gallop through the forest, removing every tree that gets in my way. The awesomeness of my stud-factor. And my best friend is a flying squirrel.
        3. As far as you are concerned, I am a brimming hot steaming bowl of Fuck. You. Up. Do not get between a bull moose and a smokin’ hawt black chick looking for a lap dance.

        Nothing personal. Believe me; it won’t bother me at all when I impale you on an oak tree.

        Like

        Reply

      • Neecy
        Aug 09, 2011 @ 17:05:58

        LOL @ Zorro – man you are violent!! :/O

        Marellus,

        I never heard of Groucho Marx – who is that and what kind of movies are those ? lol

        Like

        Reply

      • Zorro
        Aug 09, 2011 @ 18:34:13

        Groucho Marx was one of the funniest comedians in the history of the US.

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Groucho_marx

        The Marx Brothers were Vaudeville legends. They were funnier than Robin Williams, Eddie Murphy and Bill Murray combined.

        Like

        Reply

      • Neecy
        Aug 10, 2011 @ 03:57:36

        Oh that’s a whole lotta funny if you are saying they were funnier than those guys!

        Like

        Reply

  4. Mindful
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 17:42:48

    Going vegetarian does not solve the problem. Ever heard of Monsanto?

    And to add fuel to the fire, farm raised salmon is not even red or pink. In fact the salmon is white and farmers get to pick what color they want their fish to be and then feed the fish with the corresponding color packet. SMH.

    Stick to wild Alaskan. For a milder flavor try Wild Arctic Char which is very delicioso.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 09, 2011 @ 17:04:06

      Yeah i usually only buy the wild alaskan at store. I still buy the canned ones as well, but I by them with the bones and skin… I never heard of wild arctic char – will defintiley ask about it on next visit to store.

      Like

      Reply

  5. Marellus
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 19:41:24

    Zorro.
    3. As far as you are concerned, I am a brimming hot steaming bowl of Fuck. You. Up. Do not get between a bull moose and a smokin’ hawt black chick looking for a lap dance.

    Nothing personal. Believe me; it won’t bother me at all when I impale you on an oak tree.

    Oh ?! You have no idea how lifelike rock paintings can be nowadays … and I won’t stand in your way on this matter … I wish you good luck.

    Neecy.

    My apologies for this regrettable incident.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 09, 2011 @ 17:02:43

      LOL Marellus, don’t scare so easily – he was just joking around!!

      Like

      Reply

      • Zorro
        Aug 09, 2011 @ 18:27:59

        @Marellus:

        Clue #1: I told you I was a fucking MOOSE with ANTLERS. That should be a tip-off that I was fucking with you.
        Clue #2: Both you and I have been cyber-flirting with Miss Neecy. So, okay, let’s play it out. I am going to openly resent your advances on her. I posted a retort that I was willing to give her a lap dance…and noted your interest in same.
        Clue #3: Your interest in her escalated, so I escalated my own interest…in the form of threatening you. This is the internet. A threat…from a MOOSE…on the internet.
        PUH-LEASE!

        Grow a sense of humor. I’m into the Marx Bros, but you think I’m a threat.

        Change your diapers, dude.

        Like

        Reply

    • Marellus
      Aug 09, 2011 @ 20:59:36

      @Zorro

      Somehow I do believe that if a wild animal like you saw Neecy painted on a rock, you’d crash in and try to make love to it. And like I said, I won’t stand in your way. Then there’s gonna be one very zorrrrrrrrr moosy.

      But I’ve been taught to be kind to animals. So don’t worry. I’ll bring the poor moose some diapers.

      Like

      Reply

  6. Jock E Strap
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 01:36:50

    With a cool site name like afrodoll you need a much better banner for your site..
    Go to fiverr even you will be able to figure out how much to pay ; )

    Rock on
    Jock

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 09, 2011 @ 17:02:04

      LOL Jock! Yes i am so website challenged. I have been trying to figure out how to personalize my blog with a better color background and some designs. I went quickly to that site and I have to say thank you soooooooo much. I plan on utilizing somoene’s expertise to draw and create a banner for me. I really can’t think you enough!!

      Like

      Reply

  7. Liza207
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 04:53:44

    Hi Neecy, I’m working on a post. I’ll send it to you on Thursday or Friday.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Liza207
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 05:09:53

    I’m not working today I needed a serious mental health day, girl. You know how that is sometimes.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Liza207
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 05:15:00

    You know I had to mention the two men here dualing for your affections. LOL! Too much.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 10, 2011 @ 13:13:50

      LOl if we can’t have fun here then what can we have?.. Off to making my next post “MASCULINITY nad how does one define it”. This should be good!

      Like

      Reply

  10. Liza207
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 05:33:29

    I meant: dueling for your affections. Okay, it’s time for bed.

    Like

    Reply

  11. n/a
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 06:40:23

    Nice job on Roissy dealing with that lying feminist “crumpetess.” Real bitch who wouldn’t admit to her own obvious and shameless hypocrisy. But you made her recognize. 😉

    And don’t back down when she comes at you whining for sisterly friendship. She needs a few swift kicks in the cyberass to learn what she needs to know. Which is that you can’t write something, mean it, and then pretend that you didn’t.

    And don’t worry so much about GM foods. Just stick with your diet. 😉

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 12, 2011 @ 02:24:32

      The sad thing is I think she understands what she is doing isn’t really beneficial to her. rewarding a guy who is an ass with your body is just not really accomplishing anything. I also feel that women who deal with jerks and buttheads can;t really transition well into a relaitonship with a guy who isn’t b/c they deal with jerks and buttheads for a reason – they like some aspect of this.

      Like

      Reply

  12. Rod Golla
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 17:37:33

    Do you have a Facebook page or Twitter? Would love to follow you there, I’m on my iPhone and love reading your stuff!

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Aug 12, 2011 @ 20:21:16

      HEY ROD! Thanks for stopping in. No I don’t have a FB or Twitter. I have been thinking about doing video posts on You tube (or here) once I get a darned camera. Especially since I want to start with my filmmaking career and want to create mini movies/documentaries and hopefully share them on my blog in the future. I also want to contribute to creating movies and such that show healthy male and female interactions/representations. Liza and i are also working on creating a documentary about the American Black female.

      Twitter is so confusing and I guess I never considered either b/c I don’t have a following. Honestly I hate FB. I had one just b/c my family kept bugging me to get it and I never could figure out how to use it. PLus all you see are annoying updates from people about shit no one cares about.

      “I ate pizza an hour ago” Uhm SO WHAT! lol

      But if I get a good amount of followers I could start a FB page. I have to come up with a brand name. Hmmm. i don’t even think i have figured out what my purpose for this blog is yet. LOL

      Like

      Reply

  13. Gaston Risse
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 04:09:57

    I have been examinating out many of your posts and i must say pretty nice stuff. I will definitely bookmark your website.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

