HELP Neecy become a sleeping beauty!!!

My goal for October? MORE SLEEP!

Sleep is soooo important, but its the one thing that most Americans are lacking these days – including myself. 😦 It also takes its toll on the body when one is lacking proper sleep and it can be anywhere from mild-severely disaterous!

Ok so my doc RX me sleep meds last week.  *in my most whiney crying childlike voice with tightly closed lips* I’onna take them! (Plus this Chinese lady told me you can get alzheimer’s taking sleep meds).

I sold sleep meds a few years ago and I am very very aware of the actuality to becoming dependent on them to get sleep. For someone who sells drugs, I hate taking them!

But I am finding myself always tired due to lack of sleep.  I find that I have no issues falling asleep, however, I wake up during the night all.the.time. So on average I am clocking between 4-6 hrs of sleep daily. NOT GOOD.

Having sold sleep meds, you would think I would have learned all the proper habits to practice to get better sleep like:

No computers before bedtime

Winding down by doing something calming

No caffeine (which I don’t do)

No exercising before bedtime (it makes me like a crack head)

So, please feel free to share your sleep secrets/habits that help you to become a bright eyed bushy tailed sexy beauty beast each and every day. 🙂 Yes fellas this includes you!!

68 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MK
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 16:51:24

    Dr MK prescribes you two glasses of your favorite red wine (I prefer Pinot Noir) in lieu of the sleeping pills. Drink plenty of water too and have a glass bedside in case you get a tad thirsty.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Neecy
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 16:55:59

    Hey mark! (just responded to your marriage post but my comment is in moderations)

    WINE? Hmmmm. But you know what i learned selling sleep meds is that is a myth that alcohol helps you sleep better. In fact, it initially helps you fall asleep but will wake you up later in the night. But you say this has worked for you?

    Plus I HAAAAATE red wine. Too dry. never really acquired a taste for liquor. But maybe its worth a shot? Does it wake you up in the middle of the noight?

    Like

    Reply

  3. bob
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 17:33:08

    I prescribe lots of sex with a fat old white guy 😉 – we’re not much to look at but we last a loooong time and wear you out good.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Firepower
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 18:49:20

    neecy by now, KNOWS MY preferred method of relaxation so i shant elaborate.

    still, her envisioning bob getting it on with a fat old white guy might just work fine for her.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Oct 03, 2011 @ 20:21:45

      heheheeeee!!! I Love you guys. I really do. LOL

      And, no I don’t know what your preferred method of relaxation is, but I’ll take a guess. 😉

      Like

      Reply

  5. bob
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 19:01:25

    Firepower: Pbbbbbbbttt!!

    Like

    Reply

  6. bob
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 20:33:15

    Neecy, you’re so much fun! Luv ya, babe!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Anonymous
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 22:48:09

    Neecy,

    Forget sleeping pills — bad news all the way down the line. These drugs disrupt the structure of deep sleep, and they’re addictive.

    Here is the solution:

    http://www.sunbox.com/products/sunray2.html

    Not many people know about light therapy and its benefits for sleep. Light therapy is mainly known for treating so-called SAD, seasonal affective disorder, the “winter blues.” What is less known is that a 10,000 lux lightbox used for even 15 minutes every morning (at the same time) will make your sleep regular and deep. It takes maybe 1-2 weeks to kick in. You must do it every day at the same time for it to work really well.

    A side benefit is that it *utterly cures* most low-level depression. And many insurance companies will cover it, esp. if one has been prescribed sleeping medication.

    Read around the site. It’s a shame that more people don’t know about light therapy. It works.

    Another simple and very effective habit: never eat anything within 4 hours of sleep. It’s the food energy that keeps your mind going.–

    Good luck.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Oct 03, 2011 @ 23:18:44

      (I should be in bed now and not typing this lol) but ANON whoever u are THANK YOU for this. I haven’t even filled my prescription b/c I know what sleep meda can do. Plus when u stop taking them your insomnia gets worse. But I was getting so desperate I wad just going to take them just to get better sleep. I’ll research that site you posted in the morning b/c I’m definitely looking for more natural non drug therapy ways to get better sleep.

      Really appreciate your input and advice!:)

      Like

      Reply

      • Anonymous
        Oct 04, 2011 @ 18:32:32

        Neecy,

        That was me. Don’t know why it went Anon.

        Any questions — ask me. I know a great deal about this subject.

        Like

        Reply

        • Neecy
          Oct 04, 2011 @ 19:42:47

          Hey N/A, can you suggest somethings that may be causing me to toss and turn and how I can have a steady sleep throughout the night? I find I wake up for at least 1 hr in the middle of the night every night which interrupts my sleeping to get a smooth 7-8 hrs.

          Like

          Reply

  8. Liza207
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 08:17:38

    Neecy, sorry to hear that you are having a hard time getting Z’s. I don’t have much to offer in the way of relief.

    I don’t know get a good mattress and pillow (you know the foamy kind- I love them).

    It could be stress — you may be in need of a major release ;).

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 08:25:11

      Liza,

      Do you get goo dsleep? What kind of mattress/pillow do you have? I believe this is also a major contributor to me not sleeping well. I notice when i am in hotels I sleep very well and I am very comfy. I wish i knew what kinds of pillow cases and mattresses hotels used b/c I always get amazing sleep there.

      And yes my dear, I am in need of *MAAAAAAJJJOR* release 😉 i don’t need sleeping pills, I need INJECTIONS! LOL (sorry TMI everyone can’t help it) Oh whatever! yall know me by now!

      Like

      Reply

  9. Liza207
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 08:43:23

    Neecy, LOL! You are so crazy!

    I have a Tempur memory foam mattress (med firmness and 8″ high) supported by a platform frame bed and the pillows by Serta also made from memory foam. Look into it at Overstock.com.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 08:52:05

      Niiice. I may actually hi tyou up later for the specs. I was just talking to my grandmother last month telling her that I need to simply just invest in a better mattress to get better sleep. I find that soft beds kill my back and I cannot even put those eggshell thingies underneath my sheets b/c i get such bad back aches from them. so i need somehting a little firm.

      The only thing I have a beeeautiful wrought iron canopy bed that I don’t wanna part ways with. Do you think i can use the memory foam bed with this?

      Like

      Reply

  10. Liza207
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 08:54:47

    Yeah, you can keep your canopy.

    Like

    Reply

  11. Liza207
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 09:16:35

    No. Send it again.

    Like

    Reply

  12. Liza207
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 09:18:20

    Dont bother I am reading them now.

    Like

    Reply

  13. Maya
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 11:37:14

    Neecy, I have the same problem … I rather spend time on the internet than go to bed … CH is addictive :S However, I decided now that I’ll go to bed at 22 every day 🙂 I hope it works out. Can’t believe that your doc gave you sleeping pills :S

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 19:44:44

      yeah Maya, he has been holding off on prescribing them to me, but feels I should take them to help get me on track then he said he would ween me off of them. he prescribed a generic one, but i still haven’t gotten it filled yet b/c I honestly don’t wanna take them. I would like to get better sleep naturally without the help of medicine.

      Like

      Reply

  14. Maya
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 12:06:41

    Neecy,

    Off topic. I can’t resist reading RooshV as well.

    I found a really scary post about what happened to one of his hook ups. This is crazy: http://www.rooshv.com/epic-email – there’s also her response to this post – I think her comment is the 45th (the crazy bitch). You HAVE to read this.

    And you have to watch his videos on Vimeo: http://www.vimeo.com/6585672 LOL

    Can’t believe that this person has so many fans.

    Like

    Reply

    • bob
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 13:03:38

      I must be getting old, but – after reading maybe half of her email – I cannot imagine even trying to be with that witch. Unless her vocal chords were anaesthetized. Maybe. If she was *really* hot.

      And frankly, this RooshV person sounds like a loser too.

      I’m not interested enough to read anymore of either of them.

      This whole Game thing is like it’s from another planet. I guess I AM getting old. But that has its advantages. It’s nice to actually be able to think about something besides sex, at least once in a while.

      Like

      Reply

      • Maya
        Oct 04, 2011 @ 13:38:32

        Yes, the girl is weird … But you should read her comment to this post as well… I doubt she was lying about how Roosh treated her – he was very cruel to her and she even describes how their sex looked like. I really doubt she was lying/trolling when writing her comment.

        Like

        Reply

        • rockandrolla436@ymail.com
          Oct 05, 2011 @ 13:43:20

          Up until l’Affaire RooshV, this woman used to comment extensively at Roissy’s. She had a blog as well. After the Roosh caper, weeks of ridicule prompted her to password protect her blog.

          I agree that game works better on some types of women and not on others. Overgaming can be a relationship killer as it was for me. The one that got away.

          Like

          Reply

          • Maya
            Oct 05, 2011 @ 14:43:41

            Wow, really? I’d like to read her comments at Roissy. Could you post a link?

            Like

            Reply

          • Neecy
            Oct 05, 2011 @ 21:25:41

            Can you expand on what things you did that overgamed your woman that left if you don’t moind? And what kind of girl she was. This is important for men to know who are learning game I believe. A lot of them are going to try these asshole/jerk things on the wrong girl they may like and end up losing her.

            Saying that game only works on young hot women no matter what is going ot get a lot of men in the single status if they apply a one size fits all across the board.

            Like

            Reply

      • bob
        Oct 04, 2011 @ 14:58:15

        Maya,

        I read her comment. RooshV may indeed be an insanely shallow a55hole (I’m not sure what other kind of person could write a Game blog), but this woman has real issues:

        1:

        I met Roosh when out in DC and we discovered that we were born on the same day when chatting. I felt a sort of kinship for him immediately due to this. I had never met anyone born on the same day as me, and [blah blah blah blah blah] I also had a soft spot for him because he is half Persian and half Turkish. [blah blah blah blah blah]
        …Out of the many, many players that have tried to get in my pants, he did because he was born on Flag day….

        OMG. OMFG. Yes, there is a real basis for a relationship here. Suuuure.

        2:

        I tend to travel and visit friends in other countries when they invite me because I love travel, so I went to visit him in Colombia.

        HUH?!?!

        I stood before him sobbing like a fool and asked him to please, please help me just get on a plane back to the states.

        Say what? She tends to travel to other countries on a whim, but needs his “help” to get on plane back home? “HELP” as in what – money? If so, it brings up so many questions that the mind boggles. If not money, it still brings up so many questions that the mind boggles.

        RooshV is probably a loser, but this chick is plain batsh** crazy.

        Ladies, there is a lesson here. Keep those legs closed for the first few dates AT LEAST. You’ll filter out almost all of the gamer-lamers that way – they will move on to weaker prey.

        Like

        Reply

        • Neecy
          Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:08:17

          This is further proof Bob, that the women these game guys go after are not working with a full deck at all. That is why its important for quality males to not take too much of that game stuff to heart b/c it all boils to water seeking its own level at the end of the day. A lot of game works on a particular kind of women – women who are not really of high quality and usually who have a boatload of issues. But I guess b/c the women are good looking all that other stuff doesn;t matter? Who knows.

          That’s fine I guess if men want to bed these women, but at the end of the day no quality man looking for a decent girl to interact with would ever believe that a quality woman would go for these kinds of men and games. There are a lot of damaged people out there and frnakly, I want no parts of them and a lot of other women don’t either.

          Like

          Reply

          • MK
            Oct 05, 2011 @ 06:32:24

            A lot of game works on a particular kind of women – women who are not really of high quality and usually who have a boatload of issues. But I guess b/c the women are good looking all that other stuff doesn;t matter? Who knows.

            I think game principles work pretty well with most women. Not the extreme asshole version but what part about women wanting excitement, outgoing men that other people also find attractive and make an outing an experience isn’t true? Think about the last guy you put into a friends zone why was it? I bet either because you knew from the beginning it wasn’t there or he turned you off by being a schlub (anti game principles). I am curious give an example when you were initially interested in a guy but then later lost interest, I’d like to test the scenario vs. anti game principles.

            There are a lot of damaged people out there and frnakly, I want no parts of them and a lot of other women don’t either.
            Agreed 100% and I have not seen much useful screening criteria for this. Well at least that let you find it out real quick vs. later

            Like

            Reply

            • Neecy
              Oct 05, 2011 @ 17:30:54

              I think game principles work pretty well with most women. Not the extreme asshole version but what part about women wanting excitement, outgoing men that other people also find attractive and make an outing an experience isn’t true?

              I absolutely agree there. i guess there needs to be some better word usage or specifications other than asshole/jerk b/c what comes to mind when I hear those terms are men who NO ONE really wants to be around or with. It could be possible I am taking hte tmers and mixing them up with what the actions mean.

              Think about the last guy you put into a friends zone why was it? I bet either because you knew from the beginning it wasn’t there or he turned you off by being a schlub (anti game principles). I am curious give an example when you were initially interested in a guy but then later lost interest, I’d like to test the scenario vs. anti game principles.

              Ok you got me there. But also note, i don’t even give assholes or jerks a chance to even get very far. So I am more apt to talk with and interact with a nicer respectful guy than an asshole or jerk treating me like a piece of meat or some vagina with legs. And you are right, the guys I have friend zoned have been moreso lacking a certain quality to make me feel I want to be with him all the time as an intimate partner. But so do assholes and jerks. The guys who have always got my goat have been men with a nice balance and mix of dominant assertive masculine traits mixed with charming and respectful and easy to get along with. And I find men and women fall over themselves for men like this because they are so likable, but not in the push over boring kind of way.

              Like

              Reply

      • Neecy
        Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:11:44

        BOB ITA!

        Like

        Reply

    • MK
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 16:09:45

      Roosh gives solid advice about the art of game. His site never gets distracted with silly political sidebars or other noise like other ones. I wouldn’t mimic his actions personally but exactly what does a crazy girl posting like this prove about anything.

      Super dumb of him to have unprotected sex with her though.

      Like

      Reply

    • Neecy
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:02:52

      Maya darling. i have no interest in reading that stuff. Its not healthy nor doing anything positive for my life whatsoever.

      Like

      Reply

  15. bob
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 13:06:30

    Neecy emitted:

    And yes my dear, I am in need of *MAAAAAAJJJOR* release 😉 i don’t need sleeping pills, I need INJECTIONS!

    I told ya so. You know how to reach me. You KNOW you want it – LOL. 😉

    Like

    Reply

  16. Zorro
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 13:33:53

    Just before you go to bed, let a bull moose nuzzle you beneath your chin.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 19:38:50

      awww now that sounds reeeeallly cozy.!!!

      Like

      Reply

      • Zorro
        Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:02:16

        Bull moose are the world’s biggest romantics:

        http://www.amazon.com/Moose-Jessica-Picture-Puffins/dp/0140361340/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1317783597&sr=1-1

        I used this book for English lessons when I was in Saudi Arabia. Arab men might be the world’s biggest male chauvinist pigs, but they are also the most hopeless romantics on the planet, and they completely ate up a moose falling in love with a cow!!

        Seriously, though. Bull moose can nuzzle like there’s no tomorrow.

        Like

        Reply

        • Neecy
          Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:17:50

          Awwww. I love to cuddle and snuggle.

          And ARAB men “hopless romantics???” Whodathunk!

          Like

          Reply

          • Zorro
            Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:21:35

            Biiiiiiiiiiigggg time. Arab men can out-PUA the biggest PUA in America.

            Seriously. You have no idea.

            Like

            Reply

            • Neecy
              Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:30:44

              Wowwww. I would have never guessed. That is a very anti woman culture so the thought of the men doing anything to please a woman is waaay out of left field in my mind. Interesting to know.

              Like

              Reply

              • Zorro
                Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:38:44

                They don’t do anything to please a woman. They just know what to do to make a woman go shit-faced silly fall-in-love.

                Not. Kidding.

                Like

                Reply

                • Neecy
                  Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:42:01

                  That is soooo interesting LOL. I guess their women really do like assholes. I guess one good thing does come from that culture – the women are very beautiful….

                  Like

                  Reply

                  • Zorro
                    Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:48:18

                    Arab, Persian and Pakistani women have eyes that are like an abyss. You can fall into them and never hit bottom. Their eyes suck your soul into their depths and enslave you. That’s one of the reasons men in Muslim countries don’t trust women. Women, in their opinion, have the power of the Jinn (demon). They can enslave a man to their will due to their sexual power.

                    Men in Arab countries fancy themselves great lovers with huge dicks. The truth is they fear female sexual attractiveness. Women’s allure intimidates them, so they repress women.

                    I knew a Pakistani woman ophthalmologist at Harvard named Amina Merchant, from Lahore, Pakistan. Her eyes were deeper than bottomless wells. My brain trashed when she spoke to me.

                    Shit happens. So do women.

                    Like

                    Reply

                    • Neecy
                      Oct 04, 2011 @ 21:00:46

                      I Guess that is a great explanation as to why they are so anti- woman and oppressive towrds women. but i also hear there is a great deal of undercover homosexuality in those countries. The women are often covered up and never seen sexually. But I cannot remember where i read in those kinds of countries a lot of homosexuality goes on.

                      Maybe only in certain parts of the Middle east. but one thing is for sure, they are loyal men to their women and take very good care of their families. And rarely are their women slutty or without substance. At least not the Middle eastern women I know of. many are family oriented. But i find Middle easterners in general are very aggressive people – at least here in L.A.

                      Like

          • Zorro
            Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:22:57

            One other thing. I live in Vermont. That Moose-falls-in-love-with-a-cow thing happened less than 40 miles from where I’m sitting.

            Like

            Reply

            • Neecy
              Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:34:26

              Really? LOL Is Vermont really beautiful – its over by New England/New hampshire correct? Don’t know how you deal with the winters. BRRRRR!! Lots of snuggling and cuddling in those states fer sher!! 😉

              Like

              Reply

  17. n/a
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 18:34:06

    Again, Neecy, those Anon posts above were from me. Problem should be fixed now.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 19:38:11

      Thanks N/A! I looked into the light thing this morning and it seems its mainly for people who can’t sleep during winter months when its more overcast? My problem seems to not be seasonally related. I’m not sure if it will help those like me who simply have sleep issues moreso during the night.

      Like

      Reply

      • n/a
        Oct 05, 2011 @ 01:26:47

        Light boxes are used mostly by people with seasonal depression, and that’s unfortunate, because they are *amazingly useful* for all sleeping disorders.

        The process is simple. When you are exposed to regular, early morning light (at the right distance, with the right intensity), this exposure will regulate your body-clock and the secretion of certain substances, like melatonin, that allow one to sleep.

        You mention upthread that your sleep is often disturbed in the middle. This is *exactly* the sort of thing that can be cured by a light box. And there is no safer treatment for these disorders. None.

        It’s also important to avoid any food for at least 4 hours before you sleep. If you can do this you will lose weight, sleep well, and feel great. Liza’s advice about getting a Tempur-Pedic mattress is also excellent: the actual TP mattress is a superb sleeping surface.

        Light box is the key; no food and no drink for 4 hours before bed (sip water, but stop at least 2 hours before bed); and a good mattress — these changes will have you sleeping deeply within a few weeks and soon feeling and looking better than you have in many years.

        Nothing rejuvenates like deep sleep.

        Like

        Reply

        • Neecy
          Oct 05, 2011 @ 17:22:34

          N/A I love you!! Thank you so much for this. It certainly makes sense and no, I do not follow those general guidelines. I will start changing them immediatley to make a difference. I hate lacking sleep its the worse feeling ever!

          Like

          Reply

  18. Trackback: Help! I can’t sleep!
  19. Trackback: Eat to Sleep Well : Family Health & Medical Blog – Skyscape.org

Leave a Reply

