HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Wow when was the last time I actually made a post here?

 

I know I have been MIA for most of last year but I hope to get this blog back running consistently again with good posts and discussions.

 

Well I am starting my New Year off  very sad. My cat of 16.5 years was diagnosed with cancer and having a tumor in her abdomen.

 

She had suddenly lost weight dramatically in the last month and I knew something  wasn’t right. So I took her to the vet yesterday and received the bad news. I don’t now how long she has and I am struggling with when its time for her. Right now she is still eating and being her normal self as much as she can, so I don’t quite feel her quality of life is so bad. She does sleep most of the day and gets up to eat and still likes her fav activity of getting in the tub and drinking water from the faucet.

 

Crazy thing is, is that back in October she was very matted. Every year during the hotter summer months since having her she has always got matted. I attribute it to her old fur shedding and the hotter months. Usually once summer starts passing she sheds the mats and her new fur grows in. But this time she matted pretty bad. So bad I had to take her to the vet and get her groomed and shaved. Before I took her to the vet to get groomed, She was acting perfectly normal and her weight and everything was completely normal. It seems after I took her to the grooming, she just changed. It was weird. She wasn’t her same self. I also noticed she stopped eating her wet food. After a month of noticing this, in late Novemeber I changed her back to the dry food b/c usually this puts weight on her. Well that didn’t do anything.

 

The I took her back to the vet to get blood work. Her blood panel came back good/normal. So I was thinking she was ok.

 

I’m just curious as to how she took such a turn for the worse so suddenly after her grooming? What could have gone wrong? Did she have the tumor then? And if so, why were there no signs until AFTER her grooming.

 

At any rate, I guess it doesn’t matter at this point. I’m just not sure what to do b/c I do not feel she is in pain or anything as her behaviors are still the same.

 

I’m so broken hearted right now! I have had my cat for almost the second half of my adult life (I was 21 years old when I got her and she was just born). I’ll be 40 in a coupe of years. This is so painful for me.

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Neecy
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 22:09:36

    I don’t think I am going to get another pet after this. I can’t handle the part of them passing….

    Like

    Reply

    • gregariouswolf
      Jan 02, 2013 @ 07:21:26

      Sorry to hear about your beloved pet. My animals are like part of the family. I know just what you’re going through.

      Like

      Reply

      • Neecy
        Jan 02, 2013 @ 18:03:02

        Yeah that is what makes it so hard – they become part of your family. In my case she was my baby. But I am trying to look at it like I should be grateful for the long time I have had with her and try my best to realize that she is very old and I have to expect the inevitable one day. 😦 Just wasn’t expecting it this soon..

        Like

        Reply

  2. neurochick
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 07:40:18

    I am very sorry to hear about your cat, they really do become part of you, they have a presence that you can’t explain but you can feel.

    My mom found her last cat on the street in 1990. She had that cat for 14 years until she died in 2004, and we still miss her.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jan 02, 2013 @ 18:04:00

      Thanks Neurochik. It has been a very hard few days for me. And I guess I will never really get over it when the inevitable happens. Its just she’s like my baby and it hurts.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Louiza
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 19:32:45

    Hi Neecy,

    I completely understand what it is like to lose a pet. My beautiful baby-girl Yorkshire Terrier was suddenly taken from this world by Addison’s disease. We did not notice anything until she had an Addisonian Crisis, and by then it was too late. What is important is that she knows how much you love her and you now how much she adores you. No matter what happens, the bond is set in stone. I know some people don’t believe in these things, but there are people out there who are able to communicate with what pets are feeling and when it’s the right time to let them go. One of them that comes to mind is Danielle McKinnon. But even if you decide not to consult anyone about when it’s best to let her go, everything will still fall into place. I send you as much love and comfort as your heart can hold in this trying time. When I lost my girl, I never knew whether or not I could allow myself to become so attached to another pet who would most likely pass away during my lifetime. However, what cheers me up is the possibility of being able to offer another animal, a loving home and family life, and I would love to share that.
    Sending you a great big cyber hug and a kiss for your cat.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jan 02, 2013 @ 19:37:45

      Louiza I am in tears right now. Thank you so much for your encouraging kind words and understanding on what I am going through right now. I too am sorry to hear about your beloved dog passing. My cat is truly a part of me and my life that will always remain even when she is gone. She has been with me through so much. Everyday I am trying to get stronger but I have my moments and certainly my fears. I just know I need to keep showing her love, attention and affection and she will be fine either way.

      Thank you for your positive spirit and encouragement.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Mark Slater
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 20:16:03

    “…and still likes her fav activity of getting in the tub”

    IN the tub? I’ve known very few cats who like to immerse themselves. Reminds me of a story of my childhood cat.

    One day my mother was getting ready for something or other, and was drawing her bathwater. She told me, “Now after you finish your lunch, I want you to empty the trash and pull the weeds in the yard, and be sure to…”etc etc. Behind her, I noticed Hopper (who followed my mom everywhere she went) walking about precariously on the rim of the tub.

    Mom shut the bathroom door. About ten seconds later I heard a distinct “ker-PLUNK” and my mom’s voice going “Oh, no, NO”. I turned around, and the bathroom door opened but a few inches and a sopping wet cat came tearing out of there.

    Shortly after that my mom emerged, clad in a bathrobe and with her bathwater draining. I asked, “What happened?” she replied, “Hopper fell in. He’s contaminated the tub!”

    Out of earshot, I enjoyed a hearty laugh!

    Good ol’ Hopper (1979-1992)

    I am very saddened to hear of the decline of your kitty, Neecy. Through all of your life’s and love’s ups and downs, she’s always been there.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jan 05, 2013 @ 10:36:25

      Hey Mark! Happy New Year.

      Thanks for your kind words and your funny story. My alley didn’t like to be drenched but she loved just a little water to fall from the faucet. She was a unique cat indeed!

      Like

      Reply

  5. KingsDaughter
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 06:07:45

    Welcome back and happy new year.
    Too sad about your kitty. We once had a dog who developed kidney disease and she was suffering so much we had to have her put down. It was the saddest thing ever!

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jan 05, 2013 @ 10:37:28

      Hi KD!

      Thank you. Well I had to put her down yesterday. It was the hardet thing I have ever had to o do in my life, but I feel better knowing she is at peace and not in pain.

      Like

      Reply

  6. foosrock!
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 03:29:40

    Happy New Year, Neecy and everyone!. Frohes neues Jahr!

    You shouldn’t be too put off in getting another pet, as a “replacement” helps with healing and soon you will look back with the fondest of memories. All the best to you and your pussy.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jan 05, 2013 @ 10:39:24

      All the best to you and your pussy

      I’m sorry but this made me laugh really loud! Man I needed that! LMAO!

      Thanks for your well wishes to my kitty..ahem I mean pussy Foos! LOL

      Like

      Reply

  7. omerta327
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 07:54:26

    Happy New Year, Neece. So sorry to hear about your cat.

    If it’s any consolation, I know exactly how you feel. My dog Brandi died this past July. She was 15 years old, which is a damn good run for a dog. But even when you know they don’t have a lot of time left, you’re still never quite prepared for that day when it comes. Just continue to give your cat all the love and comfort you always have. And make sure to scratch her under the jaw in that sweet spot cats love.

    You say you won’t ever get another pet, but I think you will. It’ll just take some time. Growing up my folks always had dogs and cats for pets so I’ve seen them come and go. It’s never easy to lose a pet, especially a dog or cat. Not just because they become a member of the family, but also because dogs and cats tend to have their own distinct personalities. You sort of “get to know” them. But in time, maybe 8-12 months later, we’d get a new dog or cat and the process starts over again.

    I’ve always felt that pets enhance people’s lives in ways we can’t really understand, so it’s important to have them around. Just go at your own pace. And once again, my condolences.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jan 05, 2013 @ 10:43:24

      OMERTA!!! Happy New Year Hunny!

      Well I had to put her down yesterday and it was the hardest decision I have ever had to make in my entire life. I never had my own pet so this was a first. I will probably get another kitty, but now I am just not ready. I’m sorry to hear about your dog!

      You are so right. Its hard b/c like you said they all have their own unique personalities. And better believe my Alley had hers for sure. She was a trip! I know I will never get another cat like her. LOL

      And yes she LOOOVED to be put right under her jaw. She would find anything hard and rub her jaw on it. 🙂

      I just made a dedication post to her with her pic.

      Like

      Reply

  8. Neecy
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 10:44:09

    Well everyone thanks for your kind words, thoughts and well wishes. I had t put her down yesterday. if you would like to see a pic of my baby I made a new post dedication to her.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Ray
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 05:47:00

    Neecy babe, it’s always hard to see a beloved pet pass away but 16.5 years is a good life span for a cat. I know that doesn’t offer much consolation but think of the loving care she had because of you! Try not to let the sadness of losing her prevent you from being the caregiver to another poor creature that could benefit from your nice warm lap.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Ray
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:27:06

    I was talking about me! LOL!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

