Confession: I was in a Heavy Metal music video

Ok I feel bad for depressing you guys the last week. So I decided to lighten the mood by….confessing  and admitting that,  I was in a heavy Metal music video.

You can’t see me as they didn’t really show much of the crowd, but nonetheless I was there! LMAO!

HAHAHAHAAA!!!! Ok so the backstory is:

I  discovered this Metal group by watching this show on MTV with Sharon and Ozzie Osbourne. So I watched these Metal bands battle it out every week and the guy who was representing Manntis (the band) was an amazing guitarist and I found they were from Southern California in Riverside.

So after watching the show,  I found them on MYSPACE (yes this was when Myspace was all that and a bag of chips) and got tickets to a local show they were doing in Hollywood. Well I ended up connecting with other groupies fans 😛  on Myspace through their page who also loved the group. We all made plans to meet up and attend their show in Hollywood and for the first time in my life I did something CRAZY and attended a heavy Metal show.

I think, I was probably one of 1 1/2 Black people there. HA!

Anyway, we all ended up becoming really close and really in good with the band and family and we’d go down to Riverside and attend all the shows and hang out. Adair (the bi racial guy in the band) his mother was his manager and we became very close. She’d invite us and get us in free to all the shows.

So when it came time for them to do their first official music video, we were invited to be in it. They taped it in this huge hall underneath a bridge in Los Angeles. And so the rest is history.

After I started a new job I kinds lost track with them b/c some band members left and moved. But man that was good times!!

i never really listened to Meta  before that, but I really liked the sound and rhythm of their music and the CD is really amazing. I know the screaming is crazy, but the beats and rhythms are amazing.

I think what shocked me most is that I had pre-conceived notions about people who listened to metal and who were metal artiest. But i never felt uncomfortable even though I may have stood out like a sore thumb in some ways. But I ALWAYS had a blast when I attended their metal shows.

OK that is my fun confession of the month! LOL

But it also says that we as Black women should do something out of the ordinary and even a bit crazy sometimes to experience life.

FUN TIMES!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Neecy
    Jun 13, 2013 @ 22:33:15

    OMG i think I see me! Ok stop at @ :10. Is that a brown face? I also had long braids in my hair and was the only Black girl there! When you stop it look behind the guy with the White kangol like hat and dark shades. LMAO!

    I still haven’t told my momma about this one. Shhhh!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. foosrock!
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 00:11:30

    LOL!. I went to System Of a Down concert in Germany once and found the clip on youtube. Sent it to everyone telling them “I was there, look out for me!”. Har!. Was difficult to spot, although I too was probably the only black person around. Nonetheless, thanks Neecy. Some of the nicest people I know are hardcore metal fans. The men though tend to be a tad macho. Can be annoying.

    Like

    Reply

  3. foosrock!
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 00:13:36

    ….just peeped the video. Thrash metal. Screaming is sexy only then!.

    Like

    Reply

  4. ttmatthe
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 05:34:40

    That is so cool. 😀

    “I think, I was probably one of 1 1/2 Black people there. HA!”

    LOL, I’ve been there only it was 3 of us and 1 was the drummer who was my little brother. Everyone else was rednecks.

    But you know what? They turned out to be awesome people and we got to fire pumpkins at an bus out of a kind of cannon.

    Best day ever.

    If you’re not afraid to get out of your shell and let go of “black people can only go here and listen to that” stereotypes, you will indeed have the opportunity to meet great people and have wonderful experiences.

    Thanks for sharing with us, Neecy!

    *head bangs*

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jun 15, 2013 @ 11:36:06

      HAHA! Yeah those were good times. I haven’t gone to a metal show in years since them, but i felt comfy too b/c the guitarist was half Black, but everyone loved him. And although his mother was White she watched out for all of us at all the shows and made sure we were taken care of and treated right.

      Like

      Reply

  5. Bishop The Eastside Nappyhead
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 05:57:14

    I went to a couple metal concerts before……actually seemed like a dangerous place for a black person to be when I went…I mean there were swastikas…and 3rd reich reminiscent ss markings on peoples skin and clothing…maybe the one you went to wasn’t like that, the way you explain it seems peace enough, but my GOD!…we walked in there and everyone turned to us like… (we don’t take to kindly to your type round here boY) I Love going to Reggae concerts though, especially one’s outside of the country the always make my soul feel clean…Not really a fan of hip hop shows anymore unless the artist really knows how to entertain

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jun 15, 2013 @ 11:37:59

      OMG I can bet in some places some metal shows have skinheads and stuff.

      But YES I love me some reggae! I could go to a live reggae show everyday if I could.

      I am sad I missed the reggae festival here in Los Angeles at the end of May but I couldn’t go b/c I was still healing my foot from the accident and couldn’t walk around. I had already bought my tickets too.

      Oh well I am sure this summer will be filled with cool Reggae concerts and I will be there!

      Like

      Reply

  6. omerta327
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 08:01:21

    Those guys are pretty damn good. They sound a lot like this band from Springfield Mass. called Unearth.

    From my experience, I’ve always seen the Metal community as very open and accepting. Metal is for everybody, even black chicks. 😉

    In fact, there’s a Metal band with a black girl for a singer – Straight Line Stitch. This girl is a double threat – she can scream AND sing. But she doesn’t have the long braids any more.

    Her name is Alexis Brown. Met her a couple of years ago, she’s adorable.

    Like

    Reply

  7. innerimagery3
    Jun 16, 2013 @ 19:55:32

    Sounds dope. I’ve always been open-minded when it comes to music and listen to a crazy variety of genres but never really went to a festival surrounded by almost nothing but white people until I was 21. It was a lot of classic type rock/electronic/house music. That’s when i found a love for house music…when I first heard Kaskade.

    A lot of the white guys seemed bitter that i was getting attention from their women and the establishment with owned by a white trash biker gang who I almost got into it with, but I met so many chill people that i’ve made it an annual thing to go to, and every year it is a memorable experience. Being black just makes me that precious gem that is hard to find in that crowd, nah mean?
    Not really into rock as much as I used to be, but if a girl wanted to go with me to any concert i’d be open-minded enough to do it.

    BTW, reading a couple of your posts inspired me to make a wordpress. congratulations.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Omerta327
    Jun 21, 2013 @ 19:58:47

    Just found this video.

    RIP, James Gandolfini. This guy was a hell of an actor.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jun 22, 2013 @ 16:54:26

      I can’t believe he just died! Its sad, but it just shows why its so important for us to take care of our bodies and selves. He was such a promising talent. 😦

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

