DOCUMENTARY – taking a class!

Ok so as you know I am planning a documentary.

I had planned on just doing it myself based on the idea that it can’t be too difficult to create a documentary on your own. I’ve seen quite a bit of them and they do not look hard at all.

 

but I decided to look into courses for documentary and there is actually a course being offered at one of the film schools. It’s pretty expensive but I think I’m going to take the plunge. Mainly because throughout the class I have to work towards my project and I actually have to shoot and do things. The final project will be a short 3-5 minute documentary that I have to share with the class at the end.

 

)I think this will force me to actually physically do it!!

 

I don’t know if I have any readers in the LA area but there is a part where I have to do the interview part. If I decide to do a small bit on Black women (still trying to decide if I let the cat out the bag in the class or just do a generic documentary) . But if I do decide to do something on BWE if there is female reader or two on here that lives in LA area and would like to be my interviewee, please let me know. That way I can plan ahead and have someone in place.

 

im so freakin excited!!!! I hope I get what I need from this class to be able to make a bomb documentary. Plus I’m going to learn how to edit and all of that.

 

WOOT WOOT!!!

 

#shitsgettingreal

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. omerta327
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 18:20:59

    Why do you need to take an expensive class to learn how to make a documentary?
    Just learn some basic video and editing skills and get out there and do it. Shit, that’s the hard part.

    Lay out an idea of where you want this doc to go and just take it from there.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Sep 10, 2014 @ 18:29:00

      OMG this post was timely!! I was having second thoughts all day long! Lol part of me is like why do I need to spend all of that money to do this? I can go to apple and get them to show me how to edit on my computer since I have a MacBook.

      I already have a camera where I can shoot footage.

      Hmmm,.

      Thank you for giving me something else to think about. Lol

      The class doesn’t start until the 29th. But I’m starting to think I can do this myself like you said.

      THANKKKKKKKSSS!!!!

      Like

      Reply

      • omerta327
        Sep 11, 2014 @ 01:34:22

        Just go with your heart, Neece.Put it together and you can always find some software to edit it.

        It may not come out perfect, but hey, you gotta start out somewhere.

        Like

        Reply

  2. Chongo
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 22:08:14

    All the best with the documentary. Thrilled for you!

    I understand Omert327’s point of view and if you’re autodidactic, then I agree – teach yourself, pick up tips and useful advice off the internet and at the Apple store as you suggested. Then go out there and film.

    I’ve picked up a thing or two from trial and error or watching Youtube videos vis-a-vis laptops and computers, basic things mainly.

    If it’s a great course and you can afford it, I’d say enroll and take the course, especially if you feel that your documentary will benefit greatly from it.

    Like

    Reply

  3. gettingmylifefindingmylove
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 09:56:05

    Hi Neecy!
    I think you should take the class. It will be a great learning experience for you.
    You probably will get to use expensive equipment and software. They will teach you angles, lighting, etc., stuff you wont know if you go the diy route. You will also be able to meet and network with people who can help you. Might even meet a hot sexy and single guy or two……..LOL!!

    Sonja

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

