THIS! You need to be having what SHE is having!

large

If you are a young BW  – Get you some of what she’s having and QUICK!

You would think Black women were living on cloud nine if you were some alien from another planet and this was the first photo you saw of a Black girl.

This is a selfie. Which means maybe a little filter was used but not much more. in essence, this is a REAL chick whose look is attainable for your average run of the mill Black girl.

Seriously, this photo EPITOMIZES the way in which young BW should look. She’s SMIZING – (smiling with her eyes) and face. You cannot fake joy with your eyes. Her eyes look alive. She is thin and you can tell she relishes in her femininity.

Does she look like somebody that will be standing on the front lines getting tear gassed, shot with rubber bullletts and singing the old negroe spiritual? UH.NO!

Does she look like a non threatening MAMMY? UH.NO!

Do you think this girl is having any prob getting dates with ANY MAN of ANY RACE? UH.NO!

#youbettergetyousome

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. omerta327
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 14:33:13

    DAAAMMMNNNN!!!! She’s gorgeous.
    My kinda woman right there. 😉

    Like

    Reply

  2. foosrock!f
    Sep 19, 2014 @ 10:55:27

    I love that you do such post, Neecy. Although not male, men love such articles. I approve.

    PS: I’m “hotter”. Trust! ;-)))

    Like

    Reply

  3. onthewaydown
    Sep 19, 2014 @ 18:22:15

    She looks like the kind of girl you want to be around. 😀

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 18:59:49

      YES! She looks like she has good fun energy. Something more BW should have and not make any apologies for it. I never see Black community identified BW with this kind of joy. Its not encouraged in our young girls to be fun and carefree.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Pumpkin
    Sep 22, 2014 @ 17:38:44

    but how?

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 19:01:46

      By finding your joy and working on your self worth. Too many BW walk around with sad or angry faces because they feel they have to carry everyone’s burdens. Well when a BW doesn’t felt hat way and she worries only of herself, she will emanate joy from within.

      Honestly, the only Black girls I see with this kind of joyous energy are the ones who don’t hang around Black community nonsense.

      Like

      Reply

      • Pumpkin
        Sep 22, 2014 @ 20:45:03

        it’s so hard to get away from the negativity though. for example i put in a search for “i appreciate black women” that exact phrase and a story about shondra rhymes and a bunch of other negative stuff came up. it just feel like even when i look for positive i get negative

        Like

        Reply

        • Neecy
          Sep 23, 2014 @ 00:51:07

          Searching and seeking validation of being a black woman on the internet isn’t IMO going to get you there fir sure.

          You need to find it within yourself. Period.

          Like

          Reply

        • Breanna Nouveaux
          Nov 06, 2014 @ 11:41:24

          Stay AWAY from the internet for the most part when it comes to black women being uplifted. For our online image to be uplifted, our offline image must be in order first.

          Like

          Reply

      • foosrock!
        Sep 23, 2014 @ 11:21:54

        Totally agree. That’s why I wrote “I’m hotter”. I could give her smile a challenge, albeit being much much much much older, as I’m free to be a flirty, carefree female and it shows.

        Like

        Reply

  5. APA
    Sep 25, 2014 @ 05:26:36

    Neecy,

    This is a good post. It is always nice to other representations of black beauty.

    A lot of BW have naturally attractive features. We have good skin that doesn’t age prematurely and shapely bodies if we don’t allow our weight to get out of control. However, most of us are not taking advantage of our good qualities. I know too many friends who are like, “I never wear makeup because I have good skin.” Many women who wear makeup have excellent skin, and makeup doesn’t have to be heavy. You can use a pop of color here and there to add some brightness and freshness to your face. I understand not wearing makeup everyday because I don’t wear makeup to school most days, but to not wear makeup for a special event or night on the town to me is crazy. These women are not ugly or anything like that, but they sometimes do look like Plain Janes especially when it is an occassion that requires you to dress up. It’s like there are two camps among black women: those that put considerable time and effort into their appearance and those that do less for whatever reason. I never understood that anti-makeup sentiment among black women when a lot of them wouldn’t hesitate to wear a weave or wear weaves almost exclusively.

    Khadija did a post at her old blog (Muslim Bushido) about being flawless, or putting time and effort into your appearance. It was interesting to see the resistance coming from some about commenters, who disagreed with the fact that a women’s presentation wasn’t a trivial matter.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Karen
    Sep 26, 2014 @ 09:46:15

    @APA, I agree and believe that a woman should always put time in her appearance. When I walk out the door, I think of the world as my stage and I want to look my best as you never know who you may meet or who make take notice only to meet again in another set of circumstances.

    This approach as benefitted me in so many ways, that I encourage other BW to consider emphasizing their assets…I have found it to be a winning approach :-)!

    Like

    Reply

  7. firefly88
    Sep 30, 2014 @ 20:36:46

    Doesn’t matter what age you are or if, you are looking for a date or not we all should have a double dose of this.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Simlyme
    Oct 26, 2014 @ 23:23:04

    He is a good blog that has been out for a few years. Good Advise.
    The Art of Being Feminine.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Simlyme
    Oct 26, 2014 @ 23:23:43

    Here is a good blog that has been out for a few years. The Art of Being Feminine.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Breanna Nouveaux
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 11:38:25

    I saw you on BBW and remembered you have a blog too. Although I do not follow the Christianity model anymore, I still find you to be brilliant in what you do on your blog.

    This post is one of the brilliant things – IMAGES MATTER. Oh how I wish that more black women bloggers would write about this!!!

    If I was a lesbian or a man, she would DEFINITELY be my type because she is gorgeous and looks free, healthy and amazing. Just amazing. Black women have beautiful smiles, we really should use it more.

    I remember a pic of mine I posted and all the white males who commented said :I love your eyes.” This is significant because you know how in the black community “nice eyes” are seen as the ones that are colored (aka resembling mixed or white heritage?”) So for the longest time I would just take the compliment but never asked what they meant, just assuming they were trying to be nice or something. (Talk about perception, eh?)

    It is not until recently that I have noticed a plethora of comments specifically from nonblack men about “how beautiful their eyes are” and they would go on to explain the “almond shape, big brown eyes” and so forth.

    The perception of beauty that we generally tend to have about ourselves being plain (which granted can be apparent in anyone of any color, however, black women tend to be admonished more so than any other race of women, by her own group, for not appearing “like other women.”

    So its literally years later that I am understanding that my eyes are nice to some for reasons its uncelebrated among my own people. So when it was said to me again, I felt more confident to ask “thank you, what do you like about them”

    Warm
    Brown
    Beautiful
    Almonds

    Awww, I says.

    And the beat goes on. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  11. Silver Roxen
    Dec 29, 2014 @ 08:47:59

    I am working on getting this “Look” for my New Year’s resolution and it is going to be so much fun. In regards to Breanna’s comment, something I have noticed is that most of the songs about girls with brown eyes are by nonblack men, especially white men. Yes we black women have beautiful, unique features that people in our race admonish, but they find these features attractive when some women of other groups have them! Irregardless, we and our admirers recognize our natural beauty.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Dec 29, 2014 @ 09:00:52

      Good for you Silver! I would love to see more BW develop thier own look that works for them. Often times you see BW trying so hard to look like everyone else and it just simply takes away from our beauty.

      Time to start embracing and enhancing and working with our God given features.

      Like

      Reply

      • Silver Roxen
        Dec 29, 2014 @ 09:07:58

        That reminds me Neecy, I loved your post Do You Want To Be A Poor Man’s Version of Someone Else because that is exactly what happens. Yes, it is time :D.

        Like

        Reply

        • Neecy
          Dec 29, 2014 @ 09:35:09

          Have you figured out “your signature look” yet?

          Like

          Reply

          • Silver Roxen
            Dec 29, 2014 @ 09:48:28

            No, that is one of the things I am having trouble with. I am a creative person and I am very into aesthetics, so there is something that I like about many different styles. Though, I have been gravitating toward the classic, preppy style with girly elements added.

            Like

            Reply

          • Silver Roxen
            Dec 29, 2014 @ 19:51:36

            Maybe instead of having a set look or choosing a style, I could incorporate elements from various styles that I like to create my own. That way my look is just an extension of myself that I am expressing. If that makes any sense.

            Like

            Reply

  12. phoebeprunelle
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 01:02:20

    Oh…i have been got me ‘some of dat thurr’ going on two years now!

    Now i notice more men of ALL hues scoping, checking, and wondering, lol. Once we Black girls get us some peace of mind, joy, playfulness (all feminine qualities) they (men) start coming for us.

    It’s just that simple.

    And as for makeup–i wear it every day. Even if i’m going to the grocery store at 9 am on a Saturday morning! A bit of concealer, a brush of pressed powder and some lippie (usually lip stain) gets the job done and has men opening doors and cooing. I always, always am wearing nail polish (i love colors) and my favorite brand is Ginger +Liz. They’re formulas are non-toxic and safe and come in punched up neutrals, demure pinks and daring brighter colors. Black women–stock up on good nail lacquers, it’s a must! As far as style, i’m flexible really. But, i do feel i look most approachable wearing feminine t-shirts with v necks and short sleeves in various colors, some soft harem pants or a skirt with wedge heels with a cute wallet tucked under my arm and non Black dudes drool…literally. Some cute white boys my age flirt like its no tomorrow…i mean they sometimes come across as hot and bothered yet shy and nervous school boys. So sweet :-).

    Like

    Reply

  13. Silver Roxen
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 19:33:51

    Ok, I think I have figured out my look. My signature look is a mix of adorable and chic, which I call adorably chic (or I could sometimes do these looks separate). An idea for an outfit would be a lace skirt paired with a leather jacket, ankle strap heels, and the shirt could be a graphic tee or a shirt with a cute pattern. To get a better idea look for the board That Girl on Pinterest (that’s my board).

    Like

    Reply

  14. Tai Efe
    May 31, 2016 @ 20:45:09

    I’m a dark skin male and I love beautiful dark skin girls. Once you have a pretty dark skin girl you see NO OTHER race of female is prettier they just illusioned to be…Any black male that can’t see the beauty in black women is unintelligent and weak minded!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

