TIME FOR ACTION

Hopefully you’ve read my post below.

I’m tired yall. Its time for action for our young Black girls. And I’m willing to take it. I am also willing to dedicate my complete time to this but I am not going to do it without help. YES that means leave my job and dedicate myself full time to fighting for the rights for our young girls. YES I will and can be the “Al Sharpton for BW” because honestly someone needs to lead the cause because BW and girls are under serious attack and NO ONE is standing up for us.

People pick on those who they feel have no back up or voice.

One of the ways in which I have been thinking about starting this.

I had visited a site called INFO WARS. Its run by a White man named Alex Jones. And while I really have no interest in many of his topics, I like his type of platform. I like the fact that he has created his own newsroom and platform for tackling issues HE cares about.

Another platform I was looking at was Glenn Beck. He has started his own Tv online network. Of course I have no interest in his topics or even causes, just how they have built their platforms to address issues that concern them.

If there is ANYONE out there interested in trying to start such a platform, let me know now. If not I will still proceed myself. But I will at that point ask for subscriptions and donations to help the site and network along. Not now, but later down the line.

This has been on my mind and in my heart FOR YEARS. I kept putting it off. I’m also not getting any younger and I’m finding as each day, year passes I get anxious because I haven’t done ANYTHING. I believe God put this in my heart and as my calling. He keeps speaking to me and I’m ready.

I am taking ideas for names of the network as well as it will STRICTLY focus on addressing the issues affecting African American girls and women.

Just visit those sites to get an idea of the type of platform I am talking about and then let me know your thoughts.

Infowars.com – Alex Jones

The Blaze – Glenn Beck

Also, any other ideas that you can think of in terms of ACTION and the steps let me know. I’m open and will consider them all.

It’s time. I’m ready and willing!

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lovelyleblanc7
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 20:09:54

    I would suggest teaming up with BougieBlackGirl

    Like

    Reply

  2. Rae
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 21:10:25

    My heart literally felt a strike of pain watching the video. I can’t. I just can’t. The thought of birthing children IN THIS COUNTRY makes my stomach turn.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Oct 27, 2015 @ 21:13:51

      I am so,glad I don’t have any daughters now. Don’t know what I would,do.

      We need our girls to be separated into,their,own schools around each other and black women teachers and educators.

      The proof is in the pudding that even black girls who,are bussed into better suburban white schools still suffer with neglect and horrible self esteem.

      We need to,take our girls off the grid and have black girl only schools. It’s the only way.

      Like

      Reply

      • neurochick
        Oct 29, 2015 @ 06:15:23

        If I had children, I would home school them. I think black women who want to home school their children need to network with each other. There’s a reason why so many white parents have taken their children out of public schools, and it’s not totally for religious reasons.

        I didn’t go to public school. What’s sad is that the school I went to no longer exists. Many people who went on to artistic careers went to that school; what’s sad today is that there aren’t more schools like that one today. Which is why I think home schooling is an excellent option, especially for black girls.

        Like

        Reply

        • The Practical Conservative
          Oct 29, 2015 @ 18:26:18

          Homeschooling requires a ton of support. In the conservative collective, it’s breaking down pretty badly and not working. There’s no serious networks for homeschool graduates and huge resistance to working together to coordinate educational opportunities. Where it seems to be still working are where the public schools have stepped in with resources and support or where a few strong personalities keep it going while their kids are involved. And that’s in a white collective where the men marry the women.

          I have really tried to figure out what could be done for black mothers on the homeschool front because I walked into having kids and homeschooling with some positive views that turned out to be based on bad information and people misrepresenting how broken the whole concept had gotten.

          Honestly, communal living arrangements are probably the best starting point, for interested women.

          Like

          Reply

          • Neecy
            Oct 30, 2015 @ 10:39:57

            Interesting. I still can’t see how it will hurt young BW to be home schooled. Its not like they are having any real posiive solcial lives in many high schools and also, it can create and foster better self esteem and bonding.

            I was thinking something more like literally having schools for young Black women to attend.

            I’m sure it could be done. I think all of the negative reports on what young Black girls experience is enough to warrant such types of schools.

            There are plenty of studies done showing how young Black girls are neglected in all areas of school.

            The problem is poor Black single mothers wouldn’t be able to home school But they could enroll their daughters in all Black girls schools.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

            • The Practical Conservative
              Oct 30, 2015 @ 12:10:09

              Well, if you’re thinking in terms of actual schools, you are doing way better than most, because there are a lot of models to set up alternative schooling systems. Orthodox Jews offer some good examples. The main problem is getting everyone to the same physical building(s).

              Like

              Reply

  3. Lashea Williams
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 21:23:57

    Hi, I have the same passion. I left Facebook for awhile because I got tired of talking about the abuse we face over and over and not being able to do anything about it because most women seem to only want to tell their story and not any action to help the younger girls. We need a legit organization and then start funding to build what we need. Schools, music labels, magazines, sewing & beauty classes. We need our own everything in every city.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Out of Ashes to Beauty
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 22:22:21

    Neecy, I just liked your Facebook page and I hear you about working exclusively for the benefit of African American women and girls. I’m working overtime to get my own platform set up with a small network of AABW here in Atlanta. I’ve checked out both of the platforms that you suggested and that is EXACTLY what we need as a collective. I don’t trust “private” groups on Facebook. Does anyone know how to set up a private forum so we can brainstorm/strategize? I don’t think all of our ideas should be viewed by the general public. Anyway, whatever I can do to help please let me know. I have slowly been making contacts/networking with other AABW across the country and I’ll be happy to share. LaShea….Precisely!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Shaylah
    Oct 28, 2015 @ 07:02:56

    Neecy, I m in. Just let us know where to donate. I have a 13 year old niece and an 11 niece and God forbid this had happen to them. if this was a white teacher calling the cops on her, they would want his head on silver platter. Since this was a black man who sat by idle and did not do damn thing, they don’t consider it racism.
    Black women need to really catch a serious clue because the NUMBER ONE KILLER OF BLACK WOMEN IS BLACK MEN. Even though he did not physically kill her but if that piece s**t had a chance,he would had put the young teenager in a choke hold.
    When black women get their head out of the black man a** and realize that they never ever gave a s**t about you, then we can start making inroads. I want young girls to start getting passports. My cousin is studying in England for a semester. I hope she can finish school over there. If not I hope she makes connection where she can have a job to go when she gradate. Not to get off topic but when I see the video of the actions of the cop and inaction of everyone else and how they just cowered in fear. I know the cop had, but I hope that negro is fired from his post. I doubt it though.
    Neecy, since you people have smart phones, maybe do some kind of survey or conduct a market research to find out what going with our black girls and teens. We did not deal with the bs they are dealing with so we can a least teach not only survival methods but also thriving like ideas to start their own business building an app so they can make money because if you lace resources. you are limited and ore venerable to certain things.
    Give a man a fish, he eats for a day.
    Teach a man to fish, he eats for a lifetime.
    When our black girls and teen feel empowered, then they can navigate and thrive because people listen to money. Money provides safety and they can use their mind to get things done
    A mind under stress can not rest.
    My sister in law is homeschooling my niece because the students are from such broken homes they are carrying their unstable emotions to the class room.
    Like I said just let us know where we can donate and how we can help our black girls and women too.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Oct 30, 2015 @ 10:46:04

      YES! A lot of what is happening IMO is a lot of young Black girls are more likley being aggressive in school beause of the envirnments they come from. Instead of schools understanding and trying to confront these isues, they just suspend and expell these girls for thier behavior without any kinds of reform.

      The problem with young inner city Black girls is not they are innatley “bad” or troublesome, the environments they come from encourage and promote behaviors that are hard for Non Black teachers to deal with.

      If we want to better our girls we as Black women have to step up and do it beacuse non Blacks and schools have no interest in helping to rehabilitate Black girls like they do for non Black girls.

      Like

      Reply

  6. Formavitae
    Oct 28, 2015 @ 07:31:15

    Hi, Neecy.

    I recently arrived home from work. But, I didn’t want to go to sleep before dropping a couple of lines. I admire all you do and your SINCERE PASSION AND CONCERN for AA women/girls. I wish you nothing but THE BEST in all of your endeavors.

    I must, say, however, I would encourage you NOT to put your well-being or security at risk, without CERTAIN, SOLID, RELIABLE BACKING that you (almost, without doubt) KNOW will be available to you into the indeterminate future.

    I will not be verbose, as I am sleepy. I will share other thoughts I have later. But, when I studied Politics in Chile, I learned that when drivers went on strike and refused to deliver certain goods throughout the country (thereby contributing to the instability of the economic and political environment) the United States government provided resources for those drivers (so that they could afford to continue striking). Who will be YOUR “United States government” in a potential time of trouble, while you are taking a stand? Effective stands require infrastructure and solid, reliable BACKING. I’m not questioning your capacity or sincerity, I just don’t want to see you become a “martyr” as you deserve SO MUCH BETTER than that.

    There is more to my thoughts. But, I just wanted to let you know that I cannot, in good conscience, encourage you to do ANYTHING that may jeopardize your well-being in the long run. Pursue what you want, but secure YOUR safety/interests FIRST.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Rae
      Oct 28, 2015 @ 07:53:02

      Formvitae, I very much agree with you! Being a martyr is just not worth it. Because when all is said and done we are ON OUR OWN!

      Like

      Reply

    • Formavitae
      Oct 29, 2015 @ 02:12:23

      To put my Chile comment into context, all of the unrest was utilized by Pinochet to garner support from the oligarchs and governmental leaders to overthrow President Salvador Allende via military coup. Pinochet then was dictator in Chile for well over a decade.

      Like

      Reply

    • Neecy
      Oct 30, 2015 @ 10:57:46

      Hey Formative!

      No worries I have been milling over this. I do plan to not take a combative approach and I also have no plans on discussing Black men. I feel that doing so, would be a danger since the BC, BW and society in general is very Black male protective.

      My MO would be simply for poitning out the area of needs where BW need to focus. I’m not going to lie though, I could see myself like a sort of Gloria Alred LOL

      My feelings are that somehting needs to happen now and there needs to literally be a public outcry for our girls NOW because things are just getting worse.

      Currently there is a book being sold on Amzaon called “I HATE BLACK WOMEN”. Anytime such a book is allowed to be distributed and sold on such a site like Amazon We.ARE.IN.TROUBLE. I don’t care if inside the book it sang the praises of BW. The title alone is Hate speech and Amazon has allowed it to remian on thier site.

      Would this be allowed of Gays, White women or others? NO. Because they are protected groups. And gays moreso than WHite women had to fight to earn their protected group status. IOW’s no one gave it to them. They mobilized and made sure to speak up and out regulary and frequently in regards to homophobia, and now they are protected class.

      Black women are going to have to do some heavy lifting and dirty work to obstain that status for ourselves.

      I’m just saying I am willing to take the public stand to do so.

      Call me paranoid, but I feel when we see such hate festering against certain group of people, it will eventually boil over to the point where it will almost be too late to help ourselves. Kinda like the Jews in Germany. While I wouldn’t say BW’s situations ar enot that extreme, it only took less than a decade for Germans to start seeing Jews as disposable problem.

      If we do not let the world know NOW we as BW are not going to sit back any longer and allow our girls to be abused BY EVERYONE and that WE ACTUALLY CARE, I cannot see our situations improving but instead getting worse.

      I honestly have no fears.

      Like

      Reply

      • Formavitae
        Oct 31, 2015 @ 07:26:49

        Hey, Neecy.

        It wasn’t your approach I was concerned about. Truthfully, I was/am concerned about your well being financially and resource-wise. When you mentioned quitting your job I didn’t want to just say, “Yay! What a great stand! GO FOR IT,” I realize there are a lot of potentially serious implications FOR YOU, behind such a choice. I don’t know your circumstances. Nor, do I think you are naive. I just wouldn’t want you to jeopardize your future based ion “support” that may not be consistent for THE LONG RUN.

        Frankly, I WOULD LOVE for AA women/girls to have a “Gloria Allred” type champion. However, Gloria Allred’s “already got hers”. She’s just feathering the nest of security and protections she has as a WW. If an AA WOMAN successfully accomplishes the same–AWESOME!

        Like

        Reply

        • Neecy
          Nov 03, 2015 @ 20:41:02

          Oh believe me I am making sure to save a nice little nest before I make that decision. I have a pretty decent job now where its more flexible so I have a good work life balance for the most part. But at some point I do want to step out and do it once I have a solid nest.

          Like

          Reply

          • Formavitae
            Nov 04, 2015 @ 01:57:58

            WONDERFUL.

            THAT’S ALL I’M CONCERNED ABOUT..

            I understand. I have a “flexible” career too but am also making plans for my independence. The primary reason I value “capital” (won’t say “money”) is the freedom it affords you to be true to yourself and follow your own heart. You don’t have to submit to others simply because they “feed” you.

            Like

            Reply

  7. Formavitae
    Oct 28, 2015 @ 15:44:57

    “Because when all is said and done we are ON OUR OWN!”

    Unfortunately, for black women and AA women, in PARTICULAR, THIS IS TRUE.

    Like

    Reply

  8. LorMarie
    Oct 28, 2015 @ 17:17:13

    Was thinking the same. Definitely interested.

    Like

    Reply

  9. DiraD
    Oct 28, 2015 @ 20:13:23

    Neecy,

    I am in. Just let me know what you need.

    Like

    Reply

  10. DiraD
    Oct 28, 2015 @ 20:16:30

    I am definitely interested. We (AA BW) need to seriously organize.Please let me know what you need.

    Like

    Reply

  11. nichelle
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 01:01:13

    http://drcarla.com/home/2014/10/dr-carla-featured-expert-in-ebony-magazine-feature-on-the-state-of-black-girls/

    Dr. Carla Stoke’s article reveals many of the risks and challenges that adolescent black females face.

    Like

    Reply

  12. DiraD
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 18:51:20

    I’m in! What do you need?

    Like

    Reply

  13. DiraD
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 18:59:20

    Hi

    Like

    Reply

  14. DiraD
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 19:20:50

    I am in!

    Like

    Reply

  15. Neecy
    Oct 30, 2015 @ 11:02:05

    Hi all thanks! I am currently in the process of writing down my ideas and thoughts and the things I will need and how to get started. I will keep you all posted.

    Like

    Reply

  16. Shaylah
    Oct 30, 2015 @ 19:30:06

    How about charge a fee for private access and that way when people have to pay, then they leave a paper trail of some sort. Let us know when you set up a donate button and we can start adding money to it.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Nov 03, 2015 @ 20:42:55

      That is what I have planned, but more of s subscription service like the Blaze network, this way I will know I have the right audience, because people will not pay for something monthly if they are not on board with the message and ideas presented. I’ve really been fired up in the last week or so just thinking about what I want to do. But its a lot so I just have to pace myself.

      Like

      Reply

  17. forward thinking black female
    Oct 31, 2015 @ 12:22:40

    Hi there I have thought about the same thing for the past two years. As black women we are not protected and we need to care about and look after ourselves first. Who do most black men marry when they get successful?. Take care of yourselves black females and leave the rest of society to take care of themselves.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Nov 03, 2015 @ 20:44:43

      Yes this is IMPORTANT. Everyday I read more and more about the racism and prejudice Black women face and ask myself why do BW continue to go to and participate (or try to participate) in social venues that blatantly say they do not want us.

      I’ve been reading a lot lately about how clubs and BM are denying access to Black women.

      Its time for BW to withdraw from everyone and focus on building for ourselves EXCLUSIVELY.

      Like

      Reply

      • Formavitae
        Nov 04, 2015 @ 00:27:44

        “Everyday I read more and more about the racism and prejudice Black women face and ask myself why do BW continue to go to and participate (or try to participate) in social venues that blatantly say they do not want us.”

        I’ve seen and agreed with this for a while, now. AAs are too focused on integrationist philosophy. The primary arenas where AA women need to secure inclusion are in education and the “Capital” game. If you solidify YOURSELF and get your Capital game “on point”, others WILL BEG to be seated at your table–note the change from hanging AA men from trees less than 60 years ago to all of a sudden wanting them to be your husband or son-in-law. CAVEAT: His money game has to be “on point”, and the “others” have to have ACCESS. Other groups do this ALL THE TIME–note the various Asian and Middle Eastern groups who immigrate to the US. That’s their GAME plan. IT’S SMART. AA WOMEN NEED TO GET A CLUE.

        As I’ve stated before, I LOVE Old Hollywood movies. No, I don’t get offended when I don’t see black actors/actresses, because I understand/accept that Hollywood wasn’t designed by or for MY group. I’m happy to see AAs in film, but ONLY if they are in roles that aren’t degrading. I’m glad AAs have made strides in becoming part of the media infrastructure, but they have yet to use it to elevate their group as a whole. Same thing with incorporation into professional sports, the music industry, etc. WHY have AAs earned MILLIONS and probably BILLIONS of dollars yet ceased to establish a reliable infrastructure for themselves–particularly when they’ve also had access to education and insider experience to learn to do so?

        Other groups are using the resources they develop in the US to benefit THEIR OWN people. I remember reading about a group of Ethiopian MDs who were planning to work together to provide medical services to their people back home in Ethiopia. GOOD FOR THEM. My ex’s sister and her husband plan to return to India to be professors in THEIR OWN country, at some point.

        WHY DON’T AAS EVER WANT TO TAKE CARE OF AAS? THEY ALWAYS WANT TO PRIORITIZE SOMEONE ELSE.

        I could go on and on, but I’m FRUSTRATED by the lack of self-concern and self-care AAs exhibit as an ethnic group. And, frankly, I’m sick of TALKING about it. It feels USELESS at this point and a waste of energy.

        Like

        Reply

  18. forward thinking black female
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 01:40:56

    The reason why Black women participate in activities and social venues that do not want us is extreme self hatred. Let us be honest the world is not fair and never will be but black women have a history of lying to ourselves. Firstly look at how we supposedly take care of ourselves, I do not care what anyone says, in many cases obesity is self hate, and nastiness, frying your hair and wearing weaves is self hate. Going to men Black, White etc. who do not care about us is self hate. Surrounding ourselves with destructive females White Black etc is self hate and the list goes on. By the way it is not only AA women who are like this, it seems to permeate Black women in all cultures. I remember in the past when I used to date a lot of white men and I realized that they really did not care for me , I decided the only relationship I would have with them is in a business type fashion only. No Dating or socializing with them anymore. For the past 18 years this has worked out perfectly for me in regards to them, the same with the female of that group, the same with many black men and also the same with certain black women. You have to know what you want with many people in this world. Remember discrimination is not always bad if you are discriminating for the right reasons. I am a Black woman who does not want any more dysfunctional beings in my life.

    Once again Black women take care of yourselves and leave others to take care of themselves!

    Like

    Reply

  19. Black Peach Tea
    Nov 29, 2015 @ 15:21:10

    As a mother this warms my heart. I’m ready to take action

    Like

    Reply

  20. Silverroxen
    Jan 11, 2016 @ 12:31:33

    Here is a post by Black Women Deserve Better concerning black girls and education.
    http://www.blackwomendeservebetter.com/#!get-your-girls-out-of-general-population/c1m5n/56336e8b0cf2ce5bf43439f1

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

