Travel Frustrations – to travel solo or not is the question….

So I have been dealing with an issue that has finally come to a head.

 

I am single, childless, attractive and I love to travel. Except one thing – I DO NOT TRAVEL LIKE I SHOULD.

 

I have no kids, make decent money to travel where I want, YET I do not do it.

 

WHY?

 

I have continued to wait on my friends who either can’t travel when I can, don’t have the money or can’t get the time off and because I have had a fear of travelling alone and trying to wait on them, I feel I am missing out on the world.

 

I mean I can’t lie, I am scared to travel alone. What if something happens to me!!! Is this logical?

 

But at the same time, I am missing out because I keep waiting on others who cannot travel like I want to and I’m just tired of waiting.

 

So. Is there anyone here that has done a significant amount of travelling ALONE to various places outside the USA?

 

I love tropical islands, want to visit all of Europe, but this fear of something happening while I am away (like getting ill or falling sick and not being able to have someone with me to make sure I’m ok)

 

 

Its just frustrating because I feel each year that goes by is wasted by me not traveling to all the destinations I want to see.

 

So if anyone reading has done some traveling solo and could re-assure me either for or against it, I would really appreciate it!

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dorian
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 20:01:14

    Hello Neecy, I have travel alone to North California, Montreal Canada, and Sweden. I was very careful and left important information with my family. Met wonderful people. In my case I stay at hostels with large international crowd. As a tourist the people of these nations were helpful. I did not wait for friends to decided to join my adventures. Safety was always my main concern. I hope this information serve you well.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jun 17, 2016 @ 23:13:32

      Dorian!!

      Thank you for sharing that! Ita always good to hear someone else’s experience.

      Like

      Reply

      • Dorian
        Jun 18, 2016 @ 10:58:52

        Hello Neecy, Do the research regarding the nation you plan to visit. I forgot to mention this. If you consider England right now things are tense over the murder/death of an British MP

        Like

        Reply

        • mochachoc
          Jun 23, 2016 @ 08:46:04

          Please don’t let a very unusual event prevent you from travelling to England. Believe me things are always tense and not tense. Right now the biggest news is the rain and the EU referendum. Many people all over the world still visit the US even with all the reports of mass shootings.

          Use the same common sense you would at home.

          Like

          Reply

  2. Brenda55
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 20:40:52

    There is a Facebook page I frequent called For Black women only Travel group. You should check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. itsmeak
    Jun 18, 2016 @ 01:45:32

    Follow, read and even email to consult travellers who are black ladies who travel alone like Oneika the Traveller and others:

    http://www.oneikathetraveller.com/9-tips-for-solo-travel-if-youre-a-girl.html

    http://www.browngirlsfly.com/

    https://africanahgirl.com/2014/05/02/the-ups-and-downs-of-black-female-solo-travel/

    http://www.girlabouttheglobe.com/

    http://wanderlustandlipstick.com/wandertips/general/eight-tips-for-a-bap-on-the-road/

    You can find a group too. You can look into travelling with Black Girl Travel which is run by Fleace Weaver. I have read somewhat mixed reviews about the running of their tours so do your own research naturally. Don’t be afraid of going with other groups though either. On Facebook there is a beautiful young AA black lady named Simone who is currently travelling with a group of people of different races and ethnicities whom I don’t think she knows that well and she’s currently in Johannesburg in South Africa with them and just a mere two weeks ago or so she was travelling through Mexico alone along the beaches.

    http://blackgirltravel.com/

    Definitely join Meetup.com if you haven’t already as it is a resource regarding groups in your own area about EVERYTHING. It’s so great. So please look for travelling groups near you on that website if you’d like as I’m sure that it won’t disappoint.

    http://www.meetup.com/

    You can do your own research if you’re afraid but don’t worry because I understand regarding being a lady travelling entirely solo. I’m sure travelling in a group doesn’t have to be the be all end all. I have travelled totally on my own at least once to Turkey. I just got on to Expedia.com and booked a trip for six days that was flight and a hotel and I also paid for a pre-booked cab service to take me from the airport to my hotel and back to the airport again on my last day. All I brought with me was me, my normal luggage of passport, ticket, clothes, toiletries and shoes and a lovely, trusty and huge book about Turkey published by Lonely Planet.

    I really recommend looking up and possibly buying Lonely Planet’s travel guides and if you’d like as well you can subscribe to Lonely Planet’s magazine and look on their website. I loved the big guide they made for Turkey though. They hire people to travel for them to make actual reviews for their guide books for practically every destination in these different countries and different businesses such as restaurants and bars throughout so many countries in the world and it’s all written in a concise and easy to read way and frequently updated. But Lonely Planet’s book really put me at ease about travelling solo and helped me make up my mind about where to actually go in Turkey. I was sorry at the time that I had to leave Istanbul out but I picked Kusadasi because of its close proximity to Ephesus which has a beautifully preserved amount of various ruins from so many different ancient conquering civilizations. I also visited Bodrum a beautiful historic town that has ties to the Crusades, very ‘Kingdom of Heaven’ as I think parts of that movie may have been filmed there and the Dilek Peninsula National Park which is where I went with this nice older German married couple who were staying at my hotel.

    I had a great time and took great pictures. Their food is superb out there. I travelled only during the daytime and it was so easy to travel through the southwestern region of Turkey near the coast that I was in which is just across the water from Greece. They have minibuses which are called ‘dolmus’ in Turkish and larger buses as well that can take you up and down all over the place with so many different stops and I never went to completely isolated places. I also travelled there during the winter time when Turkey doesn’t really prepare for tourists at all and certain parts of Kusadasi was shut down and quiet until the summer but I still felt
    OK and quite comfortable although this was in 2008. The Lonely Planet book I had said that one should be careful of groups of young people who frequent nightclubs who try to befriend you but in the end try to get you drunk and plastered so that they can rob you blind and take your passport too. And strangely enough as my hotel was down the road from the police station when I walked by the police station a friendly officer standing outside of there told me about the same scam that groups of these young locals pull on tourists in clubs too and he warned me to be careful. At first this officer looked VERY intimidating because he was wearing pure army camouflage and carried a huge daggone Uzi that was the length of his own tall body! LOL LOL But he was OK and very polite but he was giving me ‘Jerusalem’ and ‘the West Bank’ for a while there 😀

    Even the married couple who eventually started up the business of Lonely Planet books and magazine are very interesting themselves. They’re a white British couple who were hippie dippie people travelling all by themselves throughout different countries from back in the late 60s or early 70s because one of them was a writer or a journalist I think. They had three or four kids along the way in between their travels and NOTHING stopped them from dragging their kids along with them through every country while trying to write the Lonely Planet travel guidebooks that they had created! Only one of their kids didn’t like the constant travelling around all over the place while he was growing up, their other three kids loved it they said.

    I want to go to Bali solo next and hopefully soon 😀

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jun 28, 2016 @ 10:08:28

      Hey ITMEA

      I have a friend whose friend went to Bali solo and she enjoyed it. just said the flight was very long. I also want to do bali. I heard there are a lot of hot surfer dudes there. LOL

      Like

      Reply

  4. foosrock!
    Jun 18, 2016 @ 02:04:30

    Goooooooodness!. You have summed up some points that hinder me as well on travelling alone. When I do venture, it’s back to my country of birth or to visit relatives in the US, which means I have yet to discover other islands or places in North/South America. Luckily, while I was married, my ex and I travelled a bit, but I haven’t been adventurous since my divorce and it is rather expensive to travel alone as I’m thinking when doing this, one should stay in less dodgy places as a form of protection. The most I do is take a train down to Como(IT) to visit the markets, but this is a day trip with me returning in the evening.
    If you’re ever planning on travelling to Europe, let me know when and we could arrange to discover together?. There are still so many countries I would love to visit.
    As well, have you heard of BlackGirlTravel.com?. They arrange tours, but am not very keen on large organised groups and find their program a bit “vanilla” for my taste, plus they’re mostly geared towards those(black women/girls) residing in the USofA…..
    I can only encourage you to not wait around like I have. Time flies and can ne’er be recalled. Bon Voyage!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jun 28, 2016 @ 10:10:41

      Hey Foos!

      I looked into Black girl travel awhile back but honestly the reviews from other BW who used or went on travel with that group didn’t have the best experience. While I am sure some BW did, I have yet to read a great number of reviews in support of that group – just not so great ones.

      But I think I am going to try a trip solo first to see if I even like it or enjoy it. Who knows I may prefer that over group travel.

      Definitley if and when I hit up Europe I’ll be in touch!

      Like

      Reply

  5. cediblog
    Jun 18, 2016 @ 03:55:57

    Neecy I always travel alone,if I were to wait for friends I personally would be still waiting. Like Dorian I am also very careful and leave important information with my family, in addition I check In with them daily when I can.

    THE WORD AWAITS YOU! TAKE THEPLUNGE

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. cediblog
    Jun 18, 2016 @ 03:57:16

    (I THINK I AM GETTING TIRED) I MEANT TO SAY

    THE WORLD AWAITS YOU! TAKE THE PLUNGE

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Neil Marsden
    Jun 18, 2016 @ 09:17:58

    Now granted i’m a man so the world is a little more dangerous for a lady but like what others have said , always let family/friends know where you’re going to be. You should always do a background check on the place/place’s you are going , i would even go as far to say get in touch with the US embassy in that country and see what advice they have for you. In this day and age a lot of places will have the internet so you can stay in touch with family via webcaming and such. Always be streetwise and if you find yourself in a place where you don’t feel safe trust your gut and go. I think you will find that you will have American privilege when you travel to the places which interest you plus you could look up some of the local traditions for where you are going and the locals will like that.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. Eji
    Jun 19, 2016 @ 10:09:07

    Hiya. I love to travel as well and a few years ago, when a couple of friends cancelled on me AGAIN, I was in the same boat as you. cancel or fly solo. Luckily, I decided to fly solo. since then I have acquired a comfort and even a preference for travelling alone. At that time, I was going to Florence, Italy and since I was alone, I was able to go only where I wanted to and also expand my trip into Rome and a small roadside village, which I forget the name of right now. I have also been to Barcelona, Zurich, Edinburgh n Tokyo alone. As a solo traveler, I take a lot of books to read on the planes n trains, I also email myself daily to log my travels and any one I meet or change of plans. I always let the hotel staff know where I am going, n get recommendations from them on the local hangouts n places to avoid. I definitely think that you should try it, start with someplace safer like the UK and once you are more comfortable, then go more exotic. I am doing Iceland at the end of the year (a friend has asked to come with, but either way) and Thialand next year, where my potential guide is a friend that I made while in Scotland two years ago

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jun 28, 2016 @ 10:13:36

      EJI

      Thank you for sharing I needed to see this! I think I am going to try a couple trips by myself to see how I enjoy it. If I like it I may very well do as you do and prefer travelling solo or with at least one other person.

      Thanks for sharing, I feel a little better now on taking the plunge.

      Like

      Reply

  9. itsmeak
    Jun 19, 2016 @ 12:10:45

    Oh yes Neecy. Don’t forget about the new company and website out there that WAS called Noirebnb the other day but now it’s called Innclusive. Their website says that they will be launching soon so they may have nice and suitable places for you to stay let’s hope:

    http://innclusive.com/

    Like

    Reply

  10. phoebeprunelle
    Jun 20, 2016 @ 05:25:57

    You don’t have to travel alone. Contact Fleece Weaver at Blackgirltravel.com.

    Email me if you’d like.

    I’m single and childfree at the moment too.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Jun 28, 2016 @ 10:14:40

      Hey Phoebe,

      have you used her service before? When I looked for reviews the ones I read were not good on BGT. I would like to at least see if anyone has used her service that liked it.

      Like

      Reply

  11. chocolatekisses1977
    Jun 22, 2016 @ 06:33:54

    I traveled alone to New York City since it’s 2 hours away from Philly. I found that I’m a lot more happier traveling by myself.

    Like

    Reply

  12. aa
    Jun 23, 2016 @ 16:30:14

    Yes, I have. I have gone to Europe, through Asia and the USA, all solo. In fact, I’ve traveled on my own for nearly all of my late teens and adulthood. I enjoy having my own schedule and my experiences have been very positive so far.

    I’m in a relationship now, so I could travel as a couple, but I still go solo cross-country to visit family. Also, my SO doesn’t want to see the some of the places I want to see so I’ll be going alone on an overseas trip within the next 12 months.

    What’s helpful for me is that I can be extroverted, but I enjoy my own company, so I’m good either way.

    Also, it’s ok to enjoy what YOU like to do. There are many things to do and see, and it’s ok to not do ALL the things if you don’t want to. You might want to see the mountaintop from the peak, or from a cozy little cafe window in the city. Do you.

    As far as personal safety: use common sense. You can’t protect yourself against people determined to hurt you, but you can make yourself less of an easy target. Treat it like going to the club: watch your belongings, watch your beverages, pay attention to your instincts. Stick with the herd, don’t hook up with randos, and always know how to get back to home base. If it looks isolated and sketchy, it’s probably no bueno. I did daily checkins on FB, and brought a lock just in case they had lockers in the hostel, but past that, I didn’t do anything special. I’m a woman, not athletic, slow and of an unassuming size.

    Three things to research are phone plans, using plastic and public tranportation. You want to know where to get a sim card, and also if you need a card with a PIN. Also, how do you get tickets for public transportation.

    One thing I did experience was getting very sick on vacation, and knew a person in the hostel who got badly injured in some freak accident and had to go to the hospital. As a result, I think it’s wise to get travel insurance that covers hospitalization, if you go to a country without a public health program.

    In any case, it’s also useful to bring a small travel kit with the basic first aid things you commonly use, enough packable snacks to get you through a day, and get some small bills in currency in case you need someone to get food for you. . I lived on the bread and butter my hostelmate got for me because I couldn’t keep anything down, but I still went out and about and had a amazing time.

    If you can afford it, and want to go, you should go. Have you seen Oneika’s blog http://www.oneikathetraveller.com/ She has so much good information.

    Like

    Reply

  13. aa
    Jun 24, 2016 @ 07:08:49

    I couldn’t edit, but I got sick from something in the US. Not from anything I did abroad.

    Like

    Reply

  14. Regina Love
    Aug 01, 2016 @ 12:45:28

    I am a single, childless, middle aged Black American woman who is currently on tour in Southern Italy. I have been traveling solo since ’97 (I was married at the time and my ex did not want to travel oveseas. So with his blessing, I traveled without him). After we divorced, I moved overseas to accept jobs in the Czech Republic, and the United Arab Emirates (I lived abroad from ’06 to ’09). I cannot allow fear to stop me from doing something that I love. When my time on this earth is over, I want to look back and say, “I cannot believe it did that!!!” Instead of, “I sure wish I would have done that.”

    Like

    Reply

  15. ChakaKhanian
    Aug 02, 2016 @ 22:00:43

    Hi Neecy! I travel alone. I haven’t updated my blog in a while (blogging while traveling can cause one to really miss the true experience), but check it out. I
    http://www.sistavoyage.com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

