Going to Toronto CANADA in August!!!πŸ™…πŸ½πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜

Ok my Canadian readers. Spill the beans on things I can do in 3 days!

 

ill be there first week in August for a work meeting the first two days and I’m staying an extra three over the weekend to just see and do things around Canada.

I’d definitely like any suggestions you may have in terms of what to see and do while I’m there!

 

also if anyone wants to meet up while I’m there I’d be happy to do that too!

 

πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dorian
    Jul 06, 2016 @ 18:16:11

    Hello Neecy; Enjoy your trip, and stay safe. I have been to Montreal Canada so I cannot tell you about Toronto, but you will have fun.

    Like

    Reply

  2. cediblog
    Jul 06, 2016 @ 18:44:26

    You may want to go to Trinity Bellwood park,or high park and look at the greenery, or take some fruits and a book and sit on a bench and just read> ( I personally love picnicking by myself), Go to outdoor farmers markets, go to some Caribbean cafes and taste the food. Take a “Go train” and explore pseudo rural suburbs like, Keswick, Newmarket. Visit the infamous “Yonge Street” in the day only ( do not go at night please). The University of Toronto is located somewhat centrally. There is a market called “Kensington Market”, I have never been there, but I hear it’s pretty good. Toronto is one of the faster Canadian cities, it is called a “Mini New York). A lot of black people from the Caribbean islands, reside in and around Toronto. One good way to see the city is also to hop on a city bus and site see,

    have Fun

    Like

    Reply

  3. foosrock!
    Jul 07, 2016 @ 07:36:20

    Visit the CN tower and Niagara falls. Hop on an off-on sight seeing bus, that way you can discover some awesome restaurants and pubs(bars). Been twice to Toronto as my childhood girlfriend resides there. Horribly expensive. Am not a fan of big cities, especially those that are “New York-ish”, felt really out of my comfort zone and “country”. Though people are friendlier, the size and expense put me off. Luckily my son was with me, otherwise I would have been utterly lost as well!. (Swiss are like walking GPS’. They’re fantastic with directions). Otherwise, have a lovely stay and looking forward to your post on Toronto.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Kay
    Jul 07, 2016 @ 10:24:45

    Since you there for only a few days stay local. Visit the Hot House, an excellent place to eat. Greta reviews and great service.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Mimi
    Jul 07, 2016 @ 17:57:04

    Have a great time. Enjoy! I was there years ago. Go to the Toronto website and plan your visit. Remember to get a metro card, the trains are clean and fast. Toronto and Montreal: Civilization at its best

    Like

    Reply

  6. Neecy
    Jul 08, 2016 @ 10:21:34

    Thanks so much all for the suggestions!! I am looking forward to my trip!!!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Naturelle
    Jul 09, 2016 @ 22:05:55

    Areas to Check out

    Queen Street West-Great shopping, has a hipster vibe to it.
    Yorkville (Yonge and Bloor Street)- upscale area, this is where you’ll find store like Tiffany, Prada, Gucci, etc…if that’s your thing.
    Kensingon Market/China Town-located on and around Spadina. Kensington market has that hipster/hippie vibe to it. Great for finding one of a kind vintages items.
    -The Annex, particularly Bloor Street West. Highly suggest you start West in Little Korea and walk east. You’ll head towards Yorkville where you will find tourist attractions such as the ROM (see below) or Bata Shoe Museum
    -College Street- also known as Little Italy, this is where you go if you are feeling for some Italian food
    -Yonge & Dundas-The heart of downtown, this is where you get that New York vibe. I find that aside from tourists, it’s filled with crazy people and religious fanatics, mind you, it is not representative of Toronto at all.

    Culture

    -ROM (Royal Ontario Museum)
    -Art Gallery of Ontario
    -Roy Thompson Hall-if classical music is your thing
    -Four Seasons of Centre for Performing Arts-if ballet is your thing
    -Harbourfront-There is always some multicultural event going on there, be it concerts or readings from international authors

    Things you should try

    -Poutine-It’s origins are from Quebec, but Canadians love poutine. It is greasy, junk food at its finest. Most popular place to get Poutine is at Smokes Poutinerie
    -Ice Wine-probably best you get this at the airport.

    Nightlife

    -My favourite spots is the Drake Hotel (not named after the Drake) It’s part restaurant, part concert venue, part lounge, part club, and of course part hotel. Great place to go with your co-workers to mix and mingle with other Torontonians. Suggest you get there early(like 8 pm) so you don’t have to pay for cover and go upstairs to the patio.
    -Proof The Vodka Bar/Sky Lounge-beautiful venue in the heart of Yorkville
    -Spice Route Asian Bistro Bar-gorgeous restaurant/bar
    -Brassaii-Never been, but I will one day.

    The subways are relatively easy to travel. If you will be traveling by public transportation throughout the week, I suggest you get yourself a week metro pass. If you will be traveling by transit for a couple of days only, then it would be best to purchase a day pass. An individual fare by cash is $3.25 or $2.90 if you purchase tokens. So plan your days well so you have a good idea how much you should spend on transit. If you are a good walker or like walking, a lot of these places I mentioned above are walking distance since they are in the downtown area.

    Hope this helps. Have a safe and fun trip.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Formavitae
    Jul 10, 2016 @ 01:50:32

    Neecy, HAVE FUN! I’ve never been to Canada, so I can’t give you any advice. However, I’ve heard other people say how much they LOVE Vancouver. Be sure to let us know what you think. If I ever left this country, I think I’d move to Canada, because I love the U.S. And would want to be somewhere “similar” to home. (No KKK or KKK-minded folks would be nice TOO, lol!)

    BTW, I saw your picture on Khadija’s site with your response post. You look REALLY BEAUTIFUL! And, your hair looks GREAT!

    Like

    Reply

  9. SilverRoxen
    Jul 11, 2016 @ 12:10:31

    Enjoy yourself Neecy! I would like to visit Canada someday also.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Cinnamon House
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 15:56:04

    enjoy yourself there. I’m from toronto! very good restaurants and things to do in the city

    Like

    Reply

  11. cediblog
    Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:20:54

    Hello Neecy,, did you make your trip to Toronto, and if you did how did you enjoy it?
    The summer for me went quite fast,as the saying goes something to the effect that “Time stands for no man or woman”.
    I had an illness setback this summer due to internal women health problems, and in actuality felt weak I did do some organic produce planting, and herbs such as, peppermint . I am hoping to plant more herbs and keep them inside throughout the winter. Unlike yourself and some other women on your blog, Iive in a cold climate.
    Myself personally has recently gotten back into practicing yoga, I trained as a Hatha yoga teacher 1 years ago, even though teaching yoga is not my profession. I am also looking at Kemetic yoga. One does not have to be Hindu or anything related to practice yoga> I am Agnostic/Atheist for a lack of a better term and I practice it , along with meditation. Black women who are Christian or Muslim may even want to look into the practice of it. (you don’t have to change your religion or your belief system) but the physical practice of it is relaxing, and also for me it helps with my femininity. I tend to be more soft spoken, I also realize that I do not have to yell to get my vies across, it also is helping with my posture, self reflection, and also yoga is helping my beauty and body( face and figure) (Hey I ‘m a woman I love to be beautiful and happy inside and out).

    Once again I hope you enjoyed your Toronto trip, and if you care to share , what types of activities/ attractions did you do or see in Toronto?

    Like

    Reply

  12. cediblog
    Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:22:19

    Made an error it was 15 years ago I trained as a Hatha yoga teacher

    Like

    Reply

  13. Formavitae
    Sep 08, 2016 @ 04:11:00

    How was your trip! I hope you had a GREAT TIME!

    Like

    Reply

  14. Neecy
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 20:19:37

    Hey y’all!!!

    Sorry Ive been getting acquainted with Facebook – not sure if that is a good or bad thing. BUT. I got some good material to write about after having been on it for the last couple months.

    Anyway,

    My trip was awesome EXCEPT for when I tried going to see the damn Niagara Falls.

    So I stayed a day after our work meeting to go to see Niagara Falls. So I catch a bus around 3 pm and its supposed to get me to Niagara Falls no later than 5 or 6 pm. Which gave me time to do the night boat tour to see the Lights etc. Yeah. well. that didn’t happen. What was supposed to be a 2 hour bus ride turned into FIVE HOURS!

    There were all kinds of accidents, trucks on fire etc. By the time I got there it was like 8 something. Then I had to catch a cab to Niagara Falls. But the kicker is the bus left to go back to Toronto at 10 pm. So i had really only an hour to see the Falls. Well the boat tour was going to end at 9:45 so I didn’t get to do that. I just literally got to look at the falls, grab a quick bite to eat and head back to the bus station.

    EPIC FAIL!!

    The traffic in Toronto is TEN TIMES WORSE than Los Angeles. I never thought I’d see traffic worse than LA and Toronto proved that theory wrong.

    For the most part it looked like New York to me. I guess I was expiating to see something very different. But the housing etc (especially as we drove through Ontario) looked like New York or New Jersey to me.

    Anyway, it was good to get away and get a notch on my passport.

    Like

    Reply

  15. cediblog
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 20:36:10

    Torontos nickname is mini new York. Toronto also has certain areas in which certain ethnic groups tend to reside, i.e little Italy, greek areas, Chinese areas, Carribean areas, etc. etc. Well it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your trip.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

