Pampering yourself is SOOO important as a BW.

Per Cedi, she requested that I do more posts on pampering and taking care of yourself as a BW.

We as BW live in a very harsh world that tends to try to break us down from head to toe, and seeks to suck our mind, body and spirit dry.

Well not this sista! I won’t lie and say that when I see and read the things affecting the BW collective it doesn’t bother me or get to me. But I have ways and things I do in my life to help me deal with any kind of stress or “traumas” from daily life that bring me back to a place of peace.

I think self care is a very important topic because BW are constantly giving and doing for everyone and always seem to neglect ourselves. Rarely do we get reciprocation from those we sacrifice everything for. SO I would advise many BW to get it where she can even if she has to pay for it.

I am very big on pampering myself and I have monthly and bi weekly “rituals” of pampering that I have been doing consistently for the last year and a half.

First. I get massages every 2 weeks. Luckily I found a great massage therapist that works in a chiropractic office and the massages are very reasonable. But she is also EXCELLENT. I don’t know if I can ever pay over $100 at a spa where I know I will not get the same type of massage that I get at my massage therapists. I pay $75 and that includes tip. They just started a package deal where you get a $50 break on one session. This is good for the body, mind and spirit.

Second. I get facials every 4 weeks CONSISTENTLY. I happen to have found a great skin care lady who is Ukranian and she has a skincare spa. Once again I pay a very reasonable price for excellent facials. She has all kinds of awesome facials. I also get microdermabrasion as well. I can get two types of treatments for under $150 or just one treatment from $100-115. SO worth it.

Third. I have a fitness trainer I go to 3 times a week, every week.

Fourth. I get a mani/pedi like clockwork every 2 weeks.

These are the things that I have made a staple in my life and they help so much with me feeling and even looking my best. I pray there will never be a day that I have to give up any of these things because I realize how important they are to my mind, body, spirit.

I want to start getting into meditation as I have heard that is great for clearing the clutter in your head. I tend to get very overwhelmed with a lot in my life and I feel meditation would help tremendously. I just have to find a place/person that can teach me how to do this. So that is what I all be looking into next.

What are some of the things that you ladies do to feel and look your best?

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dorian
    Oct 25, 2016 @ 21:56:56

    Hello Neecy,
    Love this post, regarding pampering. I myself drink only water and tea. Avoid sugar, and eat majority plant based food. I do yoga, walking, and running. Only run on campus track, they have excellent padding for running, My facial care is plant based wash, and I used a vitamin c serum with a day and night cream. Take multivitamin and get seven to eight hours of sleep. Used Dr, Bronner liquid soap for showers and bath. I especially take time in selecting what clothes that I planned to wear for the following day, I wear clothes that flatter my skin tone, and my shoes, sandals, sneakers are top of line comfortable. In the morning while I prepared for classes I listen to classical music or Buddha lounge.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Nov 02, 2016 @ 19:28:29

      @ Dorian

      Yes i pretty much only drink water and iced tea myself. i have even weaned myself off adding sugar to my ice tea. I used to add so much sugar now I can drink it without sugar.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Godiva
    Oct 26, 2016 @ 04:51:50

    Hi Neecy,

    I’m an avid reader and fan of your blog. My pampering routine consists of: bi-weekly manicures, facials (I love microdermabrasion w/ vitamin C), getting my eyebrows threaded every 6-8 weeks and one of my guilty pleasures buying a signature perfume (every 3-4 months). I also like to carve out 15-20 mins. everyday to put on my makeup for work.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Formavitae
      Oct 26, 2016 @ 13:42:04

      YES!

      I’m a “perfume girl” TOO.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    • Neecy
      Nov 02, 2016 @ 19:30:25

      @ Godiva

      I love perfume as well. I buy it but I really never wear it on a daily basis. But its always good to have a few signature perfumes on hand. I usually only actively wear them when I am going somewhere.

      I want to start wearing it more on the daily.

      I used to give myself great manicures. But then I got spoiled and like having them done by someone else along with a hand massage. At least I know if I ever can’t afford a manicure I can do a really good job on my own nails like I did in the past.

      Like

      Reply

  3. SilverRoxen
    Oct 26, 2016 @ 05:58:11

    I don’t really do anything to pamper myself, but that is bound to change soon. 🙂
    I been feeling better and want to look better. Therefore, I recommend therapy.
    I also recommend one one of my favorite blogs, BELLEMOCHA.
     http://www.bellemocha.com/?m=1
    The blog is about style, makeup, haircare, skincare, fitness, and goals.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Nov 02, 2016 @ 19:32:35

      @ Silverroxen,

      When I was your age I hardy did any pampering. I guess that comes with time and money. Usually when you are in your 20’s you are just starting to work and getting out of school and don’t have the extra income to do all that pampering. I just started my rituals in the last 3 years.

      There are other things you can do to pamper yourself that don’t cost money. In fact some of the best things you can do for yourself are free. I’m trying to find other ways to pamper myself for free as well as keep my other pampering rituals.

      Like

      Reply

  4. cedi
    Oct 26, 2016 @ 11:49:02

    I am cleaning out my place at this time, but I will for sure pamper myself this evening,.

    Whoah Neecy you sure do pamper yourself, nothing but the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Nov 02, 2016 @ 19:33:17

      @ Cedi

      LOL Yes I do love pampering myself and having others do it. That is why need to hurry up and get rich soon and start my tv network for BW. LOL

      Like

      Reply

  5. Formavitae
    Oct 26, 2016 @ 13:40:39

    WOW! Talk about EXCELLENT “CUSTOMER SERVICE”! Lol.

    GOOD FOR YOU, for taking such EXCELLENT care of yourself!

    I, personally, am a big “NATURE girl”, even though I live in the city. So, I try to provide “nature therapy” for myself. I have a nice sized lot in the city, and I hired a landscape architect to come up with a plan a few years ago. My yard IS BEAUTIFUL! I have a yard FULL of roses and other flowers/plantings. When I come home, I see that beauty EVERY DAY. I have over 30 plantings in my yard. I also have that same company maintains my yard/landscaping, at least, twice a month. I intend to have them do the same for my back yard and the home I purchased for myself. This year, I didn’t have them cut the roses back, so my bushes grew even larger. When the roses bloomed, I COULD REALLY smell their fragrance. It was WONDERFUL! I personally love 360 degree natural beauty.

    Since I’m renovating a home, I’ve made a lot of “sacrifices” (such as going to the salon, shopping, etc). That’s because I value a nice home/property MORE than those things. However, I like to take GOOD CARE of my skin. So. I use a skin treatment regimen that’s a bit expensive. However, it makes my complexion BEAUTIFUL! I’m looking forward to making more investiments in things like fashion, getting my hair done, etc. But, FORTUNATELY, people don’t consider me “a bad looking girl”.

    I prefer to workout at home or outdoors. I recently purchased a new video, a video from “The Firm” from the 1980s called “Body Sculpting Basics”. I’m looking forward to seeing its impact on my body. My FAVORITE workout (which I haven’t done in a while) is jogging/running. That’s MY personal form of “meditation “. I usually run by myself, because that’s when I clear my mind, think about different issues, think about myself, etc., and, I truly feel “refreshed” and think CLEARLY. Jogging/running actually brings me a lot of “peace”. I need to resume, because I REALLY MISS it and can notice the changes in my life without it. PLUS, once you get into running, it makes your heart feel SO GOOD! Not everyone LIKES it, though.

    But, that’s MY “self-care”.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Nov 02, 2016 @ 19:35:19

      FORMATIVE,

      You have the right idea. Owning property today is such a good investment for anyone especially a single woman. I’m working on that myself as the properties here in California are just astronomical and its hard finding something within my price range.

      I wish I had a green thumb. Its such a good hobby to have to be able to grow your own fruits, veggies and even flowers.

      Good for you!! I’m working at getting there.

      Like

      Reply

      • Formavitae
        Nov 02, 2016 @ 23:38:32

        Neecy,

        I DON’T have a “green thumb”…..YET. My dad does. I want one too. But, that’s why I just decided to hire people to install and maintain my yard for me. Plus, I’m very busy with work and school, so I don’t have like to of spare time or energy. I’ve already talked to my architect about wanting to design a plan for growing vegetables and fruits in my back yard. That won’t be for some time yet, as I have so many other renovations that need to be completed at the property and my back yard is currently A MESS. I had a drip irrigation system installed for my other plantings, and it’s done AN EXCELLENT job of keeping my plants watered. I don’t have to worry about taking the time to physically do it. I like a maintenance plan that I can put on “autopilot”.

        These days, I focus on earning the money so I can afford to pay people to provide services. I’ve been learning not to feel guilty about doing so and accepting that “IT’S OKAY” for black women to have “hired help”. Life is “busy enough”. We shouldn’t feel reassured to do “EVERYTHING”. I had a nursing colleague who had a maid come clean her house on a weekly basis. (I don’t know how many times.). But, I thought “Hey, maybe I can get a maid TOO.” I have a larger home, and I have a lot on my plate and other aspirations. So, I’ve been investigating housekeepingmservice options. I’m thinking about hiring someone to do a “deep clean” at least a couple of times a year and maybe come clean every so long often to make upkeep easier for myself. Right now, I still don’t know how much I trust letting a stranger into my home. But, I have to be honest and say I’m thinking of working a housekeeper into my lifestyle and budget, whereas, in the past, I thought I should figure out how to “do it all” BY MYSELF.

        For the record, in certain de eloping countries, like India, its common (for at least middle class) to have servants to help out at home. So, many cultures provide assistance with household duties to women. We BW just have to learn about GETTING “help” rather than BEING “help”.

        I LIKE the idea and honestly don’t mind working a few extra hours to afford it. (My contribution to “stimulating the economy”. Lol.)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

      • Formavitae
        Nov 02, 2016 @ 23:43:11

        I also meant to say, I know the prices for property in California are REALLY HIGH. Although I know income would be adjusted to the cost of living, it’s still WAAAY “too pricey” for me personally. Now, the place I would HONESTLY love to relocate to is Oregon. From what I’ve seen, Oregon is “SO ME”. I hope to purchase a property there someday in the future. But, that will be AFTER I’ve built the economic security to afford bicoastal living. For now, I’m doing well and am happy with my life. And, I can afford (or have the capacity to afford) the quality of life I want. And, that works for me.

        Like

        Reply

      • Formavitae
        Nov 02, 2016 @ 23:49:21

        Some of my comments have been autocorrected by my tablet. So, some words are there that I didn’t select. Sorry for any confusion.

        Like

        Reply

  6. soulanceblog
    Oct 26, 2016 @ 14:26:14

    Wow! I wish to have the budget one day to pamper myself like this! I’ve never had a professional massage but plan to try it soon.

    Like

    Reply

  7. onthewaydown
    Oct 27, 2016 @ 15:39:00

    So…I’m a grad student on a budget (though it won’t be forever…the STEM field I am transitioning into is a highly lucrative one), but I still take the time to pamper myself.

    For example, I have a simple skincare routine for both morning and evening, even though right now, my products are of the drugstore variety.

    I also am willing to spend more on mid-range to higher end natural hair care products, because they tend to last me longer due to the composition of their ingedients. One bottle of Kinky Curly Knot Today will last me a year, compared to a month for Tresemme or something similar.

    I paint my own nails…I take the time out of my schedule to do it even though I am “busy” because I deserve to look pretty just as any other woman does.

    I meditate, do gratitude lists and prayers of thanks, etc. This has done a lot to make me a calmer and happier person overall.

    Among other things, I have firm boundaries and know when to say “no.” For this, I have needed to overcome the kind of conditioning when others have called me “selfish” for needing time to myself. I have learned that it is okay to be self-interested and advocate for myself. It has helped me be less codependent in my relationships, too…most people know not to expect me to drop everything at the drop of a hat.

    Should I mention that I stopped putting men on a pedestal? All my life, I had been in training to be a good wife. More recently, I have been discovering that I have my own identity other than as someone’s girlfriend or future wife. And strangely, this is when the men appear out of the woodwork.

    Now to be honest, I was horrible at self-care even four years ago. In college, it was not unsual for me to fail an assignment I had been busy helping another person get an A on! I have learned to implement some small habits here and there until I created an entire system for myself.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Nov 02, 2016 @ 19:40:05

      ONTHEWAYDOWN

      Girl I am so proud of you for getting a STEM degree. Yes eventually you will be able to afford the luxuries of pampering as STEM degrees usually guarantee a nice paying salary.

      I have really been thinking with all that I want to do online, if I should go for a STEM degree. My job pays some tuition and I am really really thinking about going to one of the UC campuses and taking up STEM. I see its the wave of the future and its really job security. Even if you want to run your own business its a great degree to have.

      As someone who is trying to plan a future in the digital online industry I feel I should take classes or do something.

      Like

      Reply

  8. cedi
    Oct 30, 2016 @ 10:14:44

    Neecy and Ladies, pampering is so important. In my opinion it is not a luxury but, a necessity.. to myself pampering is not anymore about me spending 4-6 hours getting my hair braided. I did that a few times many years ago, I could not see any benefit of wearing hair extensions ( that is just my view anyway). Nor is it going o hair dressers, for me pampering is other types of self care, for e.g I studied tutorials from the internet and books from the library. I can do a basic manicure and pedicure on myself and spa manicure and pedicure on myself. The same with facials, the only thing I have problems doing is extractions during facials, because I don’t practice doing it. Years ago when I had facials, there was a Persian woman used to go to, I must admit, she was very good at extractions and giving me a good facial, my face always felt uber clean. she has since retired, so I have not been to anyone else,. I would like to learn how to do proper extractions on myself. One of your ladies talked about threading, Isn’t threading great? I get my eyebrows threaded once a month. (I recently came across a tutorial called “Threading 101”
    that shows you haw to do threading. I go to a professional for the threading, but I will learn how to do threading on myself, so I don’t always have to spend money. I make a body scrub and use it on my body regularly. Sometimes I use fine sea salt or raw cane sugar, add some olive oil or almond oil, and sometimes a bit of essential oil, mix it up in a bowl and apply it all over my skin, rubbing very, very gently off my dead skin, then I take a shower for a few minutes to take off the excess. The dry brushing practice is also a good way to pamper it only takes 5 minutes daily in which before you shower you take a natural bristle body brush and you gently brushoff the dead skin, before you shower/bathe. Loofah sponges are good pampering tools to use daily while you shower/bathe. There’s also a procedure called “The Korean Body Scrub” in which you go to a Korean spa , you steam for awhile and then these Korean women scrub you down with these special scrubbing mitts from head to toe to get off the dead skin, the price varies based on where you go. I have never had it done, because I have not found a Korean spa, or Asian owned spa that offers that service where Iive. But I have purchased those special mitts (from a Japanese store, which were real cheap, at about .99cents a mitt and I have gone steam rooms, and did the process there. and shower the debris off myself (I keep everything clean). Massages as some of you mentioned are really great, if money is tight, you can go to a massage school and have the service done for very little, by students. ($25 -35 is not an unusual price for some to pay for a one hour massage at a massage therapy school). If you want to have spa treatments, but you don’t want to pay a high price, try beauty/esthethics schools they offer the treatments at a fraction of the price. I sometimes find some students better that professionals because they are new to the field. practicing and gout of their way to offer excellent service. (A frugal woman like me always prefer to try and do the service myself if I can). One of you ladies mentioned getting proper sleep and I could not agree with you more, proper sleep is so important, . Years ago I read in this black nationalist book I stumbled upon, (Now I am not completely into black nationalism, but hey if they are talking about something I feel is beneficial I will learn from, as my mother used to say, pick sense from nonsense, hell I even learnt a couple applicable things from the KKK at one time). The black nationalist, self care list I read about 15 years ago talked about that a person should take 2 hours daily and in that time do something daily for themselves which would truly improve themselves( whatever that maybe), I obviously have not practiced it, but I am going to starting today. In my own life I have also reduced a lot of idle chit chat, and demeaning gossip. I have also stopped buying packaged food, and make my meals for scratch tons, of salad. Also I make my own salad dressing, due tp the ingredients in store bought salad dressings, even ones from health food stores have too much chemicals in them. I recently got back into practicing yoga but, also some meditation.. Myself personally I have to be careful when I surf the net, because the net is worse than the tv, because there is very little censorship on the net. Which is why this site and a few other sites are the few sites I read. I used to think in the past I did not have a lot of time for self-improvement, but I realize that I do, I never spent my time well in the past, and everything is connected, whether it is giving myself a manicure, thinking in the grey areas, how to store your money safely, having a facial, cross training, a little bit of dropping out of the system, everything is related. nothing is an entity unto itself (that is just my opinion).
    In addition,for all you lovely Black ladies out there, whenever you are on your menstrual cycle, self care should be a premium, in addition, this is a time we women should take care of ourselves, especially (please no excuses) we BW have too many female problems with our wombs, e.g. fibroids, which I have, endometriosis, womb cancer, obesity related illnesses etc. DailyJournaling I found to be the best therapy for me,. Many years ago I went to see therapist, I was open minded back then most were white, they were polite enough, I personally was open to them because I thought race aside they are therapists and they could help me deal with my problems, I quickly realized that they are defensive when it came to race, just like I can be defensive when it came to race. I also went to a black therapist, she wanted to fight the whole FUCKING world, I since do not goto any therapist counsellors, psycholgists, pscychiatrists or anything, because for me personally, they are unsuitable. (that’s just my opinion). Once again as I said journaling has helped me to heal, certain articles on this post has helped me, listening to some of the comments on this blog has helped me , a couple of otherBW blogs have helped me. So I have began to heal myself, somedays I feel great other days I need alittle boost, but I am happier. because I want to be the woman I want to be, not what a therapist want me to be.

    By the way I like all the comments so far on this post about pampering. It’s nice to hear other BW talk about how they take care of themselves, We are helping each other and I like a lot. SO THANKS TO ALL OF YOU. (I feel really good today)

    Like

    Reply

    • Dorian
      Oct 30, 2016 @ 20:10:43

      @cedi, I also avoid watching the news, and very leery of the internet because of the trollish, and unstable behavior of people. I myself have fibroids, and I learn physical activity lesser the pressure and pain during menstrual cycle. As for psycholgists I have a extreme disdain for them because I went to speak to one regarding issues with my mother who has alzehimers with dementia, and that person was not helpful. I cut the appointment short and told her you are wasting my time. I left and reported her to the person in charge. Also dental care is very important, have your dentist to put sealant on your teeth to prevent tooth decay.

      Like

      Reply

  9. Eji
    Oct 30, 2016 @ 12:31:56

    I picked up Hot yoga with a groupon sale and absolutely loved it as it gets me to sleep so very deep and actually helps to clarify my skin too. I also do a bit of meditation. I am only now getting deeply into it after an AM friend of mine talked to me about the benefits, which I have already started to see (incuding focus and clear mindedness) I am also huge on massages, there is a small Chinese place near my apt that I visit every Friday. they are super cheap, especially with discounts to loyal customers.
    My biggest treats to myself though are weekend getaways. I try to do one a month. buy a groupon hotel ticket to a hotel, even one in my city for a weekend. a hotel with a pool and breakfast. I get myself a cheesy, skanky poolside read kind of book. Wen I lived in Phoenix and Portland, I hiked a lot but now I just play tourist and walk around (my city) swim, read and do not answer my phone for less than a 911 message. I cap it all with a massage and a late sleep in on Sunday. its my reward for existing for that whole month. 🙂
    Self pampering is so great and even if you can not afford a massage or anything elaborate, I think the least a woman can do is buy herself flowers, once in a while, to bring a smile and some color into her own life. We deserve it.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Nov 02, 2016 @ 19:42:08

      EJI

      ITA. I do a weekend getaway at least once a month or every couple months. Its a good little mini vacation and way to just get away from it all.

      Like

      Reply

  10. cedi
    Oct 30, 2016 @ 13:32:40

    Eji
    Thank you for reminding us about flowers, I used to purchase them, but I haven’t in a long while. thank you for reminding me I’m going to run out and purchase some right now.

    Like

    Reply

  11. cedi
    Oct 30, 2016 @ 23:28:54

    Dorian you are right about dental care, I used to have nice white Chiclet teeth, and due to self neglect I have lost a few teeth, I am doing oil pulling, but I will research about what you suggested (sealant for teeth).I realize that I have to take care of myself in every way.

    Like

    Reply

  12. Formavitae
    Oct 31, 2016 @ 05:47:48

    So, I was checking to see if I could recycle an old, empty nail polish bottle. Did you all know some states consider nail polish toxic waste, and you can’t even through it in the trash? I DIDN’T. I just found out at the link below.

    I’m going to waste less money on nail polish (which I usually only use on my toes when I have time, anyway, since I play piano and keep my fingernails short).

    http://recyclenation.com/2014/06/recycle-nail-polish

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Nov 02, 2016 @ 19:43:31

      @ FORMATIVE,

      Thanks for that link! I own zoo much nail polish because I keep my nails natural and get them done bi weekly so I usually do a different color every time. I’m a nail polish junkie. I have just thrown my nail polish away without a thought that it may be toxic.

      Like

      Reply

  13. cedi
    Oct 31, 2016 @ 10:42:08

    Ladies if there are some African American owned nail polish brands started by black female entrepreneurs and there are 3 of them, that have more eco-friendly types of nail polishes, it appears that many of these companies provide online service. You may want to check them out. There are black female online businesses on the internet we may want to have a look at. Not too long ago I came across a black female owned, online lingerie boutique, I think she was based in the UK. and in New York there is a BW who has a beautiful dress line, that when I start to work again I will purchase. (this womans dresses are long and flowing and just beautiful, fitting all figure types.

    Like

    Reply

  14. cedi
    Nov 01, 2016 @ 20:38:07

    Hello Ladies , you know the phrase” Beauty starts from the Inside “. Years ago I used to get my colon cleansed regularly and I remembered it used to help with the way I felt and looked. the colonic c cost about $25 at that time because I used to get it done at a Traditional Chinese Medicine school,. Enemas though not as thorugh , but okay nonetheless a person can do at home with an enema kit., Also one day a week, I would just drink water for 24 hours. and at spring time I would just drink herbal detox teas and eat salads for one week. Even a 3 day detox diet can make your skin glow. This is not expensive to do at all. Detoxifying the system does not have to be expensive, and you can even get some of the herbs in bulk, which turns our to be very cheap. In the past, detoxification was part of my pampering routine and I used to feel a lot better. I am going to begin to incorporate it into my routine again.

    Like

    Reply

    • Formavitae
      Nov 02, 2016 @ 01:34:49

      I’ve never tried a detox. Maybe I will. The closest I’ve come to an eating detox is following a week long program to end sugar cravings. Let me tell you, “sugar addiction” IS REAL. I LITERALLY felt my body going through withdrawal. Limiting processed sugars (and sugars in general) is a MAJOR component of weight loss and control for me. UNFORTUNATELY, I’ve gotten back into ingesting more processed sugars. I’m going to have to “detox” myself once again. However, I know that process takes 1-2 months for me, IF I don’t go “cold turkey”. However, “going cold turkey” causes me to experience INTENSE withdrawal symptoms (irritability, cravings), so I usually just practice accelerated but gradual reduction.

      Something else that helps me get my eating/cravings under control is fasting. When I want to “jump start” a diet or get my cravings under control, I will either not eat for a few (like 3) days, or I will follow a VERY calorie restricted diet (800 kcal) with minimal processed sugars or starches. Both of those work VERY WELL for me. I only skip eating when I know I don’t have to work, so I can just sleep/rest during the process and place fewer energy demands on my body. I’m not encouraging others to try this WITHOUT SEEKING MEDICAL ADVICE from their physician.

      I’ve found that this works for me, as I am a “FOODIE” who ALSO (unfortunately) has a weakness for baked goods.

      Like

      Reply

      • Neecy
        Nov 02, 2016 @ 19:56:54

        @ FORMATIVE

        Actually I have read and heard fasting is very healthy and we should be doing it regularly. Have you heard of the 5 day fasting technique? I think thats what its called. Its like you fast for a certain amount of days and then eat other days. I remember reading about it sometime last year. But fasting is supposedly good and helps you lose weight.

        Like

        Reply

        • Formavitae
          Nov 02, 2016 @ 23:12:38

          I’ve read of different people’s techniques for fasting. 3 days is usually good enough for me to break bad eating patterns. Plus, I rarely have 5 days off in a row to fast (and you can feel the impact on your energy levels). If I feel I shouldn’t eat after 3 days, I’ll practice MAJOR calorie restriction. I try to balance desire for weight loss with changes in body chemistry that could potentially be harmful.

          Like

          Reply

    • Neecy
      Nov 02, 2016 @ 19:44:12

      I have yet to do a detox. I’m looking to do one. Maybe a colon cleanse is a good start? Is it safe to do?

      Like

      Reply

  15. Formavitae
    Nov 02, 2016 @ 01:59:43

    Something that I wanted to add about nature and running “therapy”:

    I haven’t been running in a while and have to retrain myself (running on a treadmill and running outdoors ARE NOT the same). And, as I said, I’m a “nature girl”. I live in the city. However, my state is naturally a deciduous forest. So. It has LOTS of trees. It also has plenty of waterways of various sizes. I am THANKFUL that my city and surrounding areas provide and maintain a local trail system. They’re also linking up various trails and even connecting them to local metropolitan/state parks.

    When I ran on a regular basis, I would use one portion of the trail for my short runs and a different segment of the trail for my long runs. My short runs “felt” like they were in the city. I ran past houses and along/across some roadways. However, I would at times see rabbits and deer along the path (SO CUTE!). And, during certain times in the fall and spring, there would be a LARGE flock of geese that would frequent segment of the park/runway. They’re there EVERY YEAR (nature does not change ITS habits FOR US). I try to avoid running in that area when they have their babies with them in the spring because they raise their wings, make hissing noises, and look prepared TO ATTACK you, if you get “too close”. And, OF COURSE, the trail path goes DIRECTLY through the area in which they like to congregate. Lol.

    But, THE OTHER direction I take for my long runs travels along roadways for a short segment but then travels among trees and along the path of a local creek. It eventually intersects with one of our metro parks. Anyway, on THAT segment of the trail, I feel COMPLETELY DISCONNECTED from the city, as if I’m not “in the city” AT ALL. It’s SO REEFRESHING! I never realized I could have that type of “getaway” experience while never actually leaving the city. It’s VERY THERAPEUTIC, for me. It’s so nice to listen to the birds and the rustling leaves and to capture views of the water. Other times, I just feel like I’m in the forest (with a nice, neat path, of course). I LOVE IT! And, the trees help you stay cool even on hotter days.

    But, trails can be used for walking, biking, roller blading, etc. they aren’t only for running. So, don’t allow a dislike of running to keep you exploring the “trail experience” FOR YOURSELF.

    Like

    Reply

  16. Formavitae
    Nov 02, 2016 @ 04:55:55

    Ok, Neecy.

    I’m trying to follow up on a previous post where I made a comment (as I said I would), but I can’t find it. So, I’ll just comment here.

    I recently obtained my concealed carry permit. In my state, it’s good for 5 years, and it’s accepted in most other states also. If you haven’t done so yet, I think you should get one too.

    Like

    Reply

    • Neecy
      Nov 02, 2016 @ 19:57:52

      I know I have been dragging my feet on this but i need to really look into this. BW should be the main group carrying weapons to protect ourselves from these ferals.

      Like

      Reply

      • Formavitae
        Nov 02, 2016 @ 23:19:50

        I was waiting until I completed gun training and purchased a weapon. But, I was “always busy” with other things. Then I read this post by Khadija, http://muslimbushido.blogspot.com/2016/09/the-time-to-get-concealed-carry-license.html. I decided to go ahead and investigate the process for obtaining a permit. It wasn’t too complicated. I completed the training and enjoyed it. Now, I have a legal right to carry to protect myself. I still have to take training courses, practice on the range, and figure out which handgun I want to purchase. Being a gun owner will be a new way of life. But, it’s important for responsible AA women who care about their security. Furthermore, I was able to complete training and obtain my permit for less,than $200. The process was TRULY PAINLESS. I encourage you to investigate and move forward .

        Like

        Reply

  17. cediblog
    Nov 03, 2016 @ 00:07:35

    -+Neecy a colon cleanse is safe to do, Iwould first go to a trained colon therapist, they are not cheap, if there is a alternative health school in your area, that offers that,it would be much cheaper. Also make sure they use a disposable hose, that they will throw away after. I give myself enemas due to finances at this time, and also because I am so accustomed to colonics, I can handle doing enemas on myself, but you do get a better colon cleaning with colonics. and for someone new to colonics it is best to go to a professional…

    Ladies some of you may want to invest in a shower filter, due to the chemicals in the water and also ,if in the area you live the water is hard..

    By the way non gmo organic alfalfa is a good detoxifying herb and not expensive, My mother used to drink it as a tea, and it rally cleaned out her system, her skin glowed and her hair got really black and uber healthy looking and feeling, When she had visited NY of all places the rare stranger would compliment her on her skin and hair.

    Those of you who are interested, may want to learn about how to make your own skincare producrs, shampoos,,conditioners etc. I I try not to purchase mainstream skin care products, because they tend to be just expensive schemicals. I may have a bias, but I believe that most BW can have beautiful skin if we eat a lot of raw vegetables, get a food night sleep, detoxifyonce in a while, drink lots of water, and use sparingly the oils that that are suitable for each of our individual skin type. I don’t think we need all the help the other groups need tokeep there skin OK.

    Remember Beauty starts from the inside out!

    Like

    Reply

  18. Dorian
    Nov 03, 2016 @ 21:22:11

    Hello Ladies,
    As the election drawed near. I have been checking and restocking my pantry. I fear people are going to act out. Already decided to laid low next week, basically attend classes and immediately return home. I consider this a part of pampering myself. Please take care.

    Like

    Reply

  19. cediblog
    Nov 04, 2016 @ 07:20:05

    As a BW living in Canada ,the US election will not affect me too much at this time. But Dorian you are wise for doing what you are doing, because I have heard of some crazy you know whos, who were wanting to start a war on certain peoples, if DT does not win, so what you are doing Dorian I applaude you. Because part of pampering is being honest with yourself, knowing and being honest about what could transpire and protecting yourself from those who could bring harm to you.

    Take care to all you BW who are living in the US, protect yourself in every way, like Dorian said, said laying low next week is a form of pampering. In my opinion it is also very wise

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

